auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 25 December 2015
Especially recommended for those who want to understand how absurd Aryan Invasion theory is.This book demolishes the foundation of aryan invasion theory with backings of facts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2017
Good read
Stephen has brought out the facts straightway and punctured the theory of Arya invasion theory. I have enjoyed the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
This is very well researched book and it comes up with proofs that counter the claims of “The Aryan Invasion Theory”. Stephen Knapp tells us about the circumstances in which the theory was brought in. He speaks about the British rule in India and the troubles the rulers were facing. Then he speaks about the misguided zeal of some of Christian Missionaries. Then we see how a theory was born to advance the interests of both the groups.
Stephen Knapp then does the profiling of Max Muller, the man who proposed the theory. He reveals some secrets and brings to light a few letters that Max Muller has written to his father. Here we get to see the other face of Max Muller and the reason why he came up with the Aryan Invasion Theory.

The author takes on most of the claims made by the Aryan Invasion Theory and tries to bring out the truth. For example : We were told that horse was not native to India and was brought here from the Persia and middle east. The author shows us as to how there is is an indigenous horse that grew in this land and has 34 ribs as against 36 ribs of an Arabian Horse. The Aswamedha Yaga speaks about the horse with 34 ribs alone. The author speaks about commonality of the Harappan culture and that of the Aryans. He takes us to the conclusion where we see that Aryans were a part of Harappans and not some one who attacked them.

We get to dive deep and see that this theory was merely based on linguistics. Linguistics can be a contributing factor but not a base to come to a conclusion. We also get to know about the famous universities that have already junked this theory. We get to delve deep into the facts that concern the Saraswati River. Stephen Knapp speaks about the Rig Veda, the hymns that speak about Saraswati River, the drying up of the river, the Mahabharata and its references to the drying up of the Saraswati River etc. Then, we get to see as to how the historians erred in determining the correct date of Rig Veda in the first place. From here Stephen Knapp derives the conclusions on how they went wrong with the entire theory as such.

Nice book, very educative read. Do read the book and you would have a new perspective about the History of India.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
This is an excellent piece, props to Stephen Knapp... If you need to check if you're smart or not, you're not if you disagree with this review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
I have been very curious to learn about the origin of the human for more than three decades.But having had to earn a living, I had to work for the major part of my life, leaving me no time for any meaningful study.In the thought process, delving into the truth or otherwise of the AIT assumed immediate significance. I began reading about five years back, on the topic. As an Indian the very names like Indraprastha, Kurukshetra and Sanskrit names like Aswamedha Yagna or Aswatha vruksha, several such tell tales and the very meaning of Arya which is in use till today in several contexts heightened my curiosity to read and research. Stephen Knap's rich citation of relevant research and logical argument demolishes this fictitious theory.For the first time I have learnt the change in Max Mueller's thinking before and after the British occupation of India.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Clear in proposition...lucid in style...the book ( or viewpoint) is based on published works of various scholars which has been blended with rational logic...the conclusions drawn will be difficult to counter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Interesting reading. Very informative and educative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
I am disappointed with this book. Hardly anything to write about. The author has not grasped even the essence of the subject matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse