auto-hp family womens-fashion



on 26 September 2017
I was reading reviews of this book on 23 Sep and that day average rating for this book was about 4 stars. Within just 2 days, so many 1 star ratings giving by trolls using fake IDs has pulled down the overall rating to 3 stars. This is what Swati Chaturvedi wanted to prove. She must be thankful to the Trolls now, because trolls are proving her right by giving 1 star ratings.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
A good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2017
A must read, for those who have been made victim of planned campaigns of malice and toxicity over social media, and also for those who have been impressionable/vicious to partake in such machinations.

It's such a pity that Indians who were fortunate to get an education decent enough to let them have a functional skill of using English and access to Internet, have managed to devolve and regress into becoming a bunch of hateful petty minded zealots who have not only bought but also peddle this idea that progress is for upper Hindu classes and those outside of it must be demonized.
As someone who has been on the internet for almost 22 years, I can safely say this book manages to nail down the culprits behind vicious trolling campaigns very effectively.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2017
This book explains how political parties in India (BJP to be more specific) makes use of social media to manufacture mass opinions. If you have come across nastiest of comments and tweets , slanderous MEMEs mocking anybody with different political views and wondered where do so many hateful tweets and MEMEs come from? This is the book you should read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2017
It’s a slim book with big fonts.

And you will be done reading it from cover to cover in less than two hours.

However, let me make this clear... in a long, long time, we have not read a 'slight' book of that size whose significance can at all be overestimated.

Not only should you buy and read it yourself, do go out and buy enough copies to distribute these amongst friends and family.

Because all of us, without exception are surrounded by those misguided bad eggs in our social lives, people who still see enough virtue in that absurd political party to overlook the kind of behaviour it uninhibitedly and unabashedly projects and promotes.

I AM A TROLL is that kind of a book.

For the first time now, we have in-depth documentation of the goons of the BJP who have made social media (especially Twitter), a dark and depressing hellhole from where even our best and brightest cannot find a way to escape or recover.

With names, links, and page after page of screenshots by way of proof.

Swati Chaturvedi, the author of this slim but audacious volume, sick of that singular disgusting epithet 'sickular presstitutes' hurled everyday and herself at the receiving end of the most vicious rape threats and death threats, one day decided enough was enough to go out and devote two precious years of her life in service of this singularly depressing investigation.

She leaves no stone unturned in identifying one demented troll after another, all 26 of whom are followed no less by Mr. Modi himself and weaves a fascinating expose led in the main by Sadhavi Khosla, the one lady with a spine and a conscience who decides to retrieve her sanity in time by saying NO to the bigots one fine day.

For good measure all these worthies carry that one description in their DPs which makes their chests swell with unalloyed pride - Blessed to be followed by PM Modi. And despite all the lies and abuses, they can rest easy in the fact that their hero will always have their back come what may!

I cannot thank Ms Chaturvedi enough. Or for that matter, Ms Khosla.

Because it was about time these 'classy' thugs of the online world were challenged and ruthlessly hauled over the coals; shamed for posterity and exposed for their shallow upbringings. Let their wives, sisters, mothers, friends and kids (even when they grow up 10 years from now) know about the words and expletives they have carefully chosen to show their lineage.

In richly documenting the sad and secret lives of these trolls, this work offers an even bigger comment on the kind of leadership that has gone out and actively stood by them. Not just stood by them, but led them aggressively day after day to build up a fascist narrative of hate and slander that India has never known until NOW.

As a party that has had no qualms in promoting a casual culture of rape, abuse and violence through their paid and unpaid trolls over 10 long years, BJP is clearly a party in a league of its own. Not Congress, not AAP, not even Samajwadi party is capable of so much bile on a minute by minute basis... in fact, no party can boast of these many supporters who seem like a bunch of unhinged perverts wanting to pass themselves off as nationalist Indians!

Rana Ayyub with Gujarat Files, and now Swati Chaturvedi with I Am A Troll; the ladies are leading this battle from the front lines.

And the least we can do is offer them our unconditional support and a platform wide enough to carry their message through the messy universe of India's voting classes.

If this nation has to be reclaimed, these terrorists of the online world are ones who we truly need to be worried about.

India needs to be cleansed of their insidious influence once and for all.

Shame on them, and shame on us for having put up with them for as long as we have!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2017
Good revelation about the typical mindsets of political parties and its leaders even the ministers we elect, what all they can resort to , to maintain their place . What is done in the name of Social Media campaigns and how it can permanently damage your perspective. I guess I got a little biased in this review .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2017
Hard to read this book without feeling that there is an unconditional hatred towards the BJP. But then, the title is a giveaway :)

Pros:-
• The book is well-written and wonderfully surprised to see the references presented elaborately.
• Authenticity is of prime concern for an investigative journalist, she does so pretty well.
• Will certainly make you wonder how deep and elaborate the social media cell of BJP is. Kind of scary.

Cons:
• The entire focus is on BJP trolls, and very little is discussed about the Congress/AAP trolls in comparison.
• The interviews with 3 trolls fail to live up to the expectation and I wish there was more written about them

Overall, I rate this book with 3 stars and I recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
I salute the author's courage. It is a well written book and brings out what has been evident for quite some time. All who value our freedom and decency must buy this book. The internet around the world has been hijacked by hate mongers and vested interests. We need to claim it back.
0Comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
This book exposed BJP's dirty politics against thr opponents and whoever asked question to them .
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
Definitely , it exposed BJP's dirty tricks against their opponents and whoever talk against them.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse