auto-hp family womens-fashion



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 February 2017
The Tree With A Thousand Apples is the story of three friends Deewan, Bilal and Saffena whose friendship blossomed amid of all the religious and political tension in Kashmir which teared apart the most beautiful state of India.
It is a coming of age novel which depicts through the story of these three friends and their families the brutality unleashed by the militants and military army on the innocent Kashmiri civilian.
Based on some real incidents, the book tells a powerful story which is written in the most intriguing and gripping manner. The author's visualistic writing style will make readers imagine the events happening in front of their eyes. It was shuddering and many a times I read the book by holding my breath at the anticipation of unfolding events.
Depicting the plight of both Kashmiri Pandits and innocent Kashmiri Muslims this novel is a must read for anyone who loves reading realistic fiction.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2017
We have got our own Khaled Hosseini as Sanchit gupta, hats of to this excellent work. I am really happy that I have read this wonderful book, if you have not read this book about Kashmir than you have missed a good literature.

Kashmir is a sensitive issue right from independence of 1947; whenever Kashmir is said the first thing that came to our mind is mountains, valleys, beautiful landscapes, heaven of India and terrorist. Recently I have read an article on how Lord Mountbatten with her wife Edwina Mountbatten changed the decision and life of Kashmir’s by forcing Nehru to decide the fate under UN Security Council.

Now about his book, this is a story of three close friends Deewan Bhat, Bilal and Safeena, how their life changes after 1990 riots in Kashmir. The journey from childhood to the adolescent of three friends and how Kashmir conflicts affect their life is portrayed by the author, I don’t want to reveal the plot, the blurb itself says much.

The writing style of author is too lucrative; he has conveyed the message in very simple way, also the life and culture of Kashmiri Muslims and Pundits is perfectly articulated by the author. In the book author has highlighted many such events where it show that army is misusing their power, which is a message to the government. The book has everything in it love, redemption, pain, revenge, loyalty of friends, etc.

Nice sentence from the back cover of the book “If a criminal was once a saint and a saint was once a criminal, then who is the criminal and who is the saint?” I liked the entire episode when Ravi was gambling with his friend and got three aces but losses his life against terrorist in a bomb blast.

Poetry, character buildup and the entire plot is the best ingredients and it’s a plus point for this book, the book has lots of interesting twists and turns which makes un-put-down-able.

This is one of the best book I have read in 2017, I highly recommend this excellent novel to those who wants to know about Kashmir, life of Kashmiri’s youth and true situation over their.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 June 2017
The book is all about the paradise on earth, Jammu & Kashmir. Through the lives of Deewan, Bilal and Safeena, author tell us how the paradise got transformed into hell.
Safeena, Bilal and Deewan were childhood friends. The got bonded with each other as well as their families at a time when Kashmir was not belittled as a land of fanatics. Everything was good till the day when a group of religious fanatics slaughtered innocent militants. The day when humanity died in Kashmir.

We, as Indians will not be able to even keep the book down. It is the story of Kashmir. Every Indian's pride and pain. Author has depicted a complicated topic in a single dimension without losing the crust.
The language and narration is outstanding. Another USP of the book is characterization. Right from childhood to adulthood, the characters of the book maintains the individuality. The book has got all the qualities to become a classic. The book is historical, philosophical, futuristic, and realistic fiction.

The shift of generations is not smooth. Nevertheless, the development of characters through years is lucidly portrayed.

This review is in return of a free book from the Writers Melon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
There are some books that drown you so deep within them that you feel you can see the characters in front of you. You feel you are a part of their life. You start empathizing with the characters and root for them to emerge victorious in the end. When I finished reading "The Tree with a thousand apples", I sat like a statue for about fifteen minutes, lost in thoughts. My mood was sombre as I thought about Bilal, Safeena and Deewan. It took me an hour to collect myself and write this review.

The strongest love and friendship is the one that sacrifices with a peaceful smile. This book is a heart-wrenching and beautiful tale of friendship amidst a battlefield called Kashmir. Deewan, Safeena and Bilal are childhood friends, living in the beautiful city of Srinagar. They love each other so much that they won't even think twice before taking the blame for someone else's mistake. They can bear anything to save each other. As Bilal says "For us, Deewan Bhai, whatever it takes."

The author has painted Kashmir beautifully in the book by mentioning about Kashmiri culture and Kashmiri cuisine. He has shown how the paradise turned into a battlefield suddenly, robbing the innocence of three kids and putting their friendship to test. The apple tree in the backyard of Deewan's house stands as a metaphor of their friendship.

The narration of the book is mostly fast-paced. Only at few places, I found the pace dropping a little. There are a few typos in the book, but they can be overlooked because of the gripping plot. All the characters are beautifully sketched. The characters have a lot of depth and intensity. The ending is something that will stay with the readers after closing the book. Full points to the author for the heartwrenching ending!

I will go with 4.5 and would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read. You won't be disappointed for sure!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
It is very rare that you find a book so intriguing, that you get lost in its world and don't even mind finding a way out. A story so captivating, you almost don't realize that it's well into the AM and you should've slept hours ago. That's how good this story is. A perfectly designed piece of contemporary work, and very well one of my best reads.

It tells you about the situation in Kashmir from the perspectives of those who've lived it, who've seen seen and felt the chaos, and also from the eyes of those who know of it and have their own take. A wide spectrum of beliefs and behavior, shaped by the characters' own tumultuous experiences; wrapped in with a beautiful backdrop of friendship and trust, and the serene beauty of the valley, brought to life by the author's words, complementing it all. A writing so interesting, you won't put it down until you've had your fill.

Trust me, if you don't get hooked and don't feel a chill running down your spine ever so often, you're just not reading it right.
Highly Recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
In a time when Kashmir is perhaps the highlight of every news channel or discussions happening at college canteens, office premises or even while chatting with friends and families, this novel “The Tree with a Thousand Apples” seems very relevant and close to life. Lately, a number of books are being published with the central theme revolving around Kashmir; but this one perhaps has gained the maximum attention by readers and reviewers.

The story of The Tree With a Thousand Apples revolves around three friends Bilal, Safeena and Deewan, whose paths cross twenty years after they witnessed the ‘Paradise on Earth’ shatter before their eyes. The lives of these three childhood friends suddenly changed on the night of 20 January 1990. How their lives take dramatic turns and what happens when their paths cross again after 20 long years? Well to know this you will have to read this book which I am sure will intrigue you with its language, narration and the story.

The author Sanchit Gupta has treated the subject very sensitively and has successfully explored the loss that humanity is facing in Kashmir due to the unwarranted violence and terrorism.

This book is written so beautifully that it evoked so many emotions within me. When I was reading it, so many incidences started flashing in front of my eyes. The beautiful locales of Kashmir (we had visited in 2014), one of our Kashmiri family friends and stuff like that.

One of my ex-colleagues is a Kashmiri Pandit who had to flee from her native place along with her parents. She took a job in Delhi where I happened to meet her. I still remember (this happened sometime in the late 90s) how she prayed every day that their house gets burnt so that they can claim the compensation. It was pathetic to see someone praying for their house to get destroyed, just for the sake of survival.

The book blurb questions, “If a criminal was once a saint and a saint was once a criminal, then who is the criminal and who is the saint?” What do you think? Now, this is a tough question to answer? Is it about the perspective or the situation? Is it about the challenges or the changes? How does this change happen? Well, these are some of the questions to ponder and to know the answers, you will have to read the book.

The Tree with a Thousand Apples is a brilliantly written novel that weaves the world of Kashmir beautifully. The author has poured the emotions of Kashmir in this book. The helplessness of its innocent people who are gullible and whose lives have been devastated due to the unrest in the valley have been beautifully described in it. The three protagonists and their stories showcase the miserable condition of the people who want the world to listen to them, understand them and help them. This book is a great piece of work which gives an insight of the Kashmir issue, the condition of its people.

The cover of the book is simply amazing and draws the attention at the very first glance. The binding and quality of the book is also superb. And what about the title? The moment I read the title, I was desperate to read the book. Need I say more?

The plot is fresh and full of twists and turns. The character building is brilliant and the narration style is simple and captivating. This is a book that will stay with you for a long period of time. Very different from the run of the mill mushy romance books that are available abundantly nowadays. Highly recommended to readers who want to read a good book. The book is a sincere attempt by the author Sanchit Gupta to capture the heart and soul of the Kashmir valley, the people living in Kashmir and the historic struggle going on there since the partition of India.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 June 2017
A paradise lost and a friendship that flickered past the winds of intolerance, The tree with a thousand apples is a story of the scattered lives of Deewan, Safeena and Bilal.

A war-torn Kashmir that ruins the lives of the ones seeking peace and the ones who have a heart for the good. The book is written to make the reader feel the plight of the natives of Kashmir who survived the night of January 1990, to either become runaways or to stay to be prisoners in their own lands.

The book starts with Safeena who journeys to meet Bilal and then the plot shifts to their younger peaceful days in Kashmir when they used to team up with Deewan, Kashmiri Pandit for their mischievous endeavors.

The days of peace didn’t last for long when the war for a “free” Kashmir led to a massacre of the Pandits forcing Deewan and his family to flee leaving Bilal and Safeena behind , who were forced to live miserable lives with whatever that was left of their families.

Tortured by both the security forces and the militants, Bilal and Safeena give into rage in order to avenge their loss along with a Deewan who still suffers for his past.

Will they find the justice they deserve or the wish to lead a normal life come with a price?

Read The tree with a thousand apples to find out.

The tree with a thousand apples is one of the best books that I read in 2017.

The book comes in hardcover, sporting the beautiful cover of a tree with apples that mirrors itself with a tree which is dead with the apples remaining.

The story is written in a lucid manner and the plot execution is fluid.

Nowhere between the pages would one feel like skipping a few parts.

Heart-wrenching and yet one would like to go through the torment as this is a story one cannot afford to miss.

The book reveals the side of Kashmir that no poet sings about, it speaks of the fateful night and the days of pain that followed.

Ratings-

Cover- 4.5 stars

Title- 4.5 stars

Blurb- 4 stars

Plot- 4 stars

Writing and Presentation- 4 stars

Overall- 4.2 out of 5 stars

There were times while reading the book, where the reader needs to know a little more but the book denys the wish to do so. For example, how Bilal escaped PAPA-2 is still a mystery.

The content is worth every minute that you are going to spend on the book.

Reviewed By- Banaja Prakashini
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
The Tree with a Thousand Apples by Sanchit Gupta is a fictional take on the insurgency in Kashmir during the 90s, against the Kashmiri Pundits and the citizens’ fight for Azadi that followed, and is still continuing. There is not one but three protagonists of the story, Deewan Bhat, Safeena Malik and Bilal Ahanagar, whose story we follow, from their childhood days through their adolescence and finally adulthood.

Deewan, Safeena and Bilal are best of friends, living in the land they call jannat, their lives are harmonious in the amity valley until one day everything falls apart. The fateful night of 20th January 1990, when the rest of the nation slept, thousands were being killed and forced to flee their homes because some miscreants wanted azadi. And since that day, neither the refugees, nor the militants have looked back. The beautiful place these kids called their home was being torn apart each day, by the army and the militants alike. For a sufferer, there was hardly difference between the two - both carried guns, both shed blood and both were making their homeland impious.
The insurgency raging in Kashmir had it’s effect on everybody, while Deewan fled with his family to Jammu and then Bombay, Safeena lost her mother and brother to collateral damage, and Bilal took up arms, only to later forgo it for the sake of his beloved friend. After being years apart and with no news about each other, a situation arises which forces Bilal to seek out Deewan, now a famous journalist and poet. He asks for his bhai’s help to locate Safeena, who seems to have gone missing recently.
Will Deewan reach out with help? Will they ever find about Safeena’s whereabouts, or will she be lost like the numerous others? What about the gap of the years that kept them apart and what about the reason for them being in this situation?

Narrated in the third person with present tense, the first word that would describe this beautiful prose for me is - captivating. Seldom I come across such books whose story I wish were real, and this is one of those, not for the gory and horrific things, but for the bond formed between the protagonists during the tender years of their childhood, to remain unharmed even after all the hate and tragedies decades later. How come they have such strong feelings for each other still? What makes them so that they are ready to sacrifice their own life for each other? I may never know the friendship they share, nor will the millions who have never formed a bond so great.
The author seems to have taken special care when sketching out the characters, be it the protagonists or the inanimate Kashmir, which is rendered alive in the reader’s eyes through beautifully placed words. Never at any point I felt like keeping down the book, and it only proves the ability of the author that I finished it in a single sitting! This is my first book on the disputed territory, and am glad I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, it has sparked my interest in the history of this particular land and it’s fall from grace.
The depiction of the effects of a war, be it external or internal, is shown explicitly by the means of these three families. We think we are safe from harm if we are the oppressors, but we usually forget to look at the larger picture, a war does good to nobody. Oppressors or sufferers, both are punished in some form or the other. The displacing from one’s home is terrible, so is living in the place you have been living ever since, but can’t call it home anymore. Losing loved ones to someone's’ selfish cause is always painful, it doesn’t matter which side you are on, blood will be blood and it will be red. Youths are often lured by the charm of money and fame, and yes, brainwashed into thinking that God wants them to do something particular. But they know not that all God wants them to do is to live in peace, here or there doesn’t matter, only peace does. And by the time they do realize this, it’s mostly too late, either for them or for others.
The summers will go away, the winters shall approach. But if winter is here, can spring be far behind? We can only hope to have the apples back, not just in thousands, but in millions, for all the lost years, for all the lost hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 10 REVIEWERon 21 June 2017
The tree with a thousand apples is one of those rare books that leaves an impact on the reader. Sanchit Gupta, author of this book, has tried to depict the lives of Kashmiri people affected by insurgencies.

The story basically revolves around the lives of three childhood friends born in different religions and their journey in life after the unfortunate late 90’s insurgencies. Which path these three friends choose in their life and how it affects their life is what you’ll need to find out by reading this book.
The title of this book is based on an Apple tree in the story that confronts happiness, true friendship, emotions and even riots but stands tall in every situation.

The narration of story is quite nice as it grips the reader very effectively. Beautiful depiction of characters and their cultures are some of the things that makes this book more interesting.

P.S. I review products on amazon to help fellow customers in taking wise decisions and try to ensure that everyone's hard earned money get its full worth. It always makes my day to know that people find my reviews helpful. Feel free to comment for any queries.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 May 2017
The Tree With A Thousand Apples, is one of those books that you come across once in a while. This book is just perfect in every way.

The story revolves around three friends; Deewan, Bilal and Safeena growing up in the beautiful valley of Kashmir and how their lives take abrupt turns owing to the insurgency and political turmoil during the 90s.

The book is engaging and the author, Mr Sanchit Gupta has managed to describe every event, every feeling and emotion in a profound manner. The book also uses traditional Kashmiri words in certain places with footnotes to help understand them.

I won't go into much detail as I'm afraid I might give away vital elements of the story, but this book is about friendship, love and sacrifice. It goes to show how true friendship can survive even the harshest of conditions, how lives in the beautiful valley had been tormented and how the once known "Paradise on Earth", morphed into the valley of terror, how the once lively Dal lake stool still in fear amidst the blood-stained snow capped mountains. Oh this book has got it all.

This novel needs to be made into a movie. Tremendous work done by the author. Thank you very much and I look forward to your next novel, Mr Gupta
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse