auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 17 October 2017
Meera Sachdev, a representation of disturbed human life, comes back to India after getting divorced. ‘Divorce’, a taboo in Indian context and still remains, dooms her and her life. Unlike customary norms, her family and friends stand by her side and are all ears to her emotional turmoil. Do not take her as a weak lonely separated woman, she is modern woman who might be exhausted temporarily but is not a subject of pity at any given chance. This book is an account of her seven conversations wherein she explores herself, world around her and world beyond her limits, which is populated with her family, friends, teacher and the Lord – Krsna, himselfThe book urges us to choose happiness over convenience and not give in to the tendency to make expedient decisions in life. It encourages us to believe in & stay true to ourselves. It impels us to make right though difficult choices, and to tap our vast inner reserves of strength to extricate ourselves from life's trials.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
A refreshing take on discovering oneself. A perfect guide for our much-troubled generation today creatively written in a story which is engrossing and just magical!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2016
First I ordered this book from Amazon USA and delivered well before the date - Thanks to amazon and i got a signed copy of this again from Nistha Ji - Double happiness.

Where in the book it was written that " May you always , choose happiness over convenience" my first impression on this book was like sure i will enjoy the reading. yes, I enjoyed the whole journey.

Krsna Speaking to meera - " Because you still seek happiness externally, you are driven by your senses. you are chasing material pleasure while true happiness lies within. look into yourself and find the truth"

This book is an unique combination of philosophy and and connects to everybody to our real life experience. Read it
Have a great reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2015
Very well written..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2015
The philosophical learning in the book has been made easy to understand through the storytelling, which unfolds as the story progresses. Although the book begins with a painful backdrop, initially it takes you through the typical societal mindset.
It tell us how we occupy ourselves with the irrelevant. It inspires through its characters to overcome our own programmed brain to go beyond and seek true answers for our happiness. All the answers lie within, just need to cut the noise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2015
A journey much felt...the profound confusions,the setbacks,the basic human instinct that fights for survival and finally identifying our sole reason for existence that gives immense satisfaction to ones heart and soul.Nishta's Seven Conversation is truely a book that demands reader's introspection and helps identify what one really wants in life.
Accolades to the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2015
The author says- "we read to occupy ourselves, we read to find respite, we occasionally read to avoid life". Somehow I don't read for any of these reasons, I read to know a story, I picked this book because of the moving introduction, story of a divorcee at in her 30s, who embraces happiness over convenience. It indeed is a story of someone who does not opt for convenience. The protagonist leaves a well settled job, love marriage, escapes suicide(easy option for lots), comes back to India to face the social contempt. Books starts on a moribund note, but through the roller coaster ride, it comes alive and so does the protagonist by the time book ends. As much is a simple yet moving story, the author paints beautiful pictures of Vrindavan and Mathura. I have never been there, but now it is in my must-go-to places. Questions of life get answered not just through spiritual guru, but also through common men and women who we meet daily. The city of justice is a beautiful creation, crafted in detail, very techie which reflects author's background. As much as it is grand, the spiritual part is grander. I think it tells how we can find answers to deeper question within ourselves, if we are really looking for it.
Beautiful style, keeps one interested until the end leaving the reader wanting for more. Excellent use of lines from others like Ghalib, but she has plenty of her own, one being- "Our failures damage the temple of our soul by watering the seeds of self-doubt that when germinate around its walls, shake its whole foundation"
Look forward to more stories..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2015
We often live our lives surrounded by noise, responding to the inharmonious stimuli, with responses that concern matters that keep our compasses misaligned.
We think we aim for the right goals but we don’t realize the inaccuracies of our maps.
Take for instance the institution of marriage. It is a decision to live together for a man and a woman guarded by legal commitments.

Kahlil Gibran on marriage says:
Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.

Perhaps he means that a marriage is a collective evolution of souls that are not bonded to one another.
Changelessness or stasis is a death knell for a marriage.

The protagonist of our book here has her foundations of self-belief momentarily shaken by a collapsed marriage. Like the flower of Morning Glory, the night that ensues cause her life’s happiness to fade away.
The journey inwards, Krsna, human warmth and falling in love again make the life inside her unravel into the full bloom of a bright new morning with full glory.
The reader travels with Meera on this journey of nuanced emotions and it is hard for the reader not to feel what Meera feels.
The essential story and the manner in which it is expressed seamlessly takes the reader to the meaning of the book. It is this oneness with Meera and how the author has united the reading experience with the emotions underlying the story which makes this an exquisitely beautifully read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
Once in a while life gets a little too challenging and you feel insufficient to handle what you are faced with, but then someone suggests you a book to get some motivation, you give it a try, and then miraculously everything in your life seems to be easy and effortless. 'Seven conversations' is one of those books. The author shares learnings from her own life experience blended in a wonderful story. The seven conversations that happen between Meera and the different characters in the story feel like conversations between the author and the reader, enriched with practical wisdom that uplifts you from within.
Definitely recommend this spiritual treat for the soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2015
'Seven Conversations' is a refreshing spiritual fictional novel - elegantly written, with lucid & almost masterful rendition of highly abstract Hindu spiritual concepts, and some beautiful story-telling.

What makes the work more special is that it comes from a very young, first-time (if we discount her prolific ability to churn out post after post on her spectacular blog) & self-made author who is wise beyond her years.

The book urges us to choose happiness over convenience and not give in to the tendency to make expedient decisions in life. It encourages us to believe in & stay true to ourselves. It impels us to make right though difficult choices, and to tap our vast inner reserves of strength to extricate ourselves from life's trials.

If there is one spiritual book from 2014 you must pick up, this is it. It would not be an exaggeration to say 'Seven Conversations' deserves a place on the same shelf as works from the likes of Paulo Coelho & Kahlil Gibran.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here