auto-hp family womens-fashion

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
181
4.5 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 December 2016
This story is so amazingly unique and different. It revolves around various aspects in the society. I must also admit that this story can very well fit into being made into a movie.

I read this from start till the end without a break as it was intriguing with each and every chapter. The story revolves around three friends namely

Aakash Srivastava - son of an IAS Officer
Jai Chaddha - Telecom Sector Employee
Vivek Sharma - an Investment Banker

Though they were from different background and was placed well in their respective position/jobs, they wanted to venture into something due to the growing discontent in their life with various things like financial commitment, divorce etc.,

Jai falls in love with Sneha after meeting her in an unusual incident. In another incident Aakash gets slapped by a girl in a party as he tried to be too flirty. That night when three friends got to meet together, Jai got a spark that eventually led to creating a online portal where users can vent their anger through videos.

As the idea was novel, it finds investors too in no time and they were off to a flying start. However destiny had other plans. Their website has to be shut down. They also met a person in the meanwhile who made them work out something unusual. The end result was unexpected.

What happens in the end is a picture perfect climax. Who helped these guys? Were they able to bring back their website online?

Read them by buying the book now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2017
Cover- 4 stars
Title- 4.5 stars
Blurb- 3 stars
Plot- 4 stars
Writing and Presentation- 4 stars
Overall- 4 stars

BLURB

What happens when three entrepreneurs initiate a start-up which shocks the nation?
Aakash, Jai and Vivek are mostly usual in their ways, except for some. Struggling with their own inner conflicts as well as the cruel world outside, they decide to show the world their true potential. To make it big. But how? They become the voice of the nation by starting up an online platform where people can upload unabashed, unapologetic videos, venting out their angst against people, politics, bosses, lovers, taboos, or just about anything. Even the founders themselves.
The platform spreads like wild fire. But when has fire doused without burning a few!
Confused Bastards is not just a witty, gritty, fast-paced journey of three friends, it’s also an intolerant story for a tolerant country!

REVIEW

The title "Confused Bastards" is just perfect for this novel and the cover is creatively designed.

The plot begins with 3 friends, Aakash Srivastava (who is the son of an IAS Officer), Jai Chaddha (who works as a Telecom Sector Employee) and Vivek Sharma (who is an Investment Banker).

As a reader, I could find a part of myself in the characters as i read it. The characters were very carefully written and the author has done great work.
The plot story very well depicts the confusion that the today's youth goes through. The confusion to do something useful with their lives, to prove themself to the world, to live upto the world's expectations, all the struggles and conflicts that today's youth go through. The author has done justice with the whole plot. I felt like I am reading the story of my life. The ending was dragged a bit otherwise it is an amazing fun read.

I would love to read his work in Future. Looking forward to his Next Novel. And I hope he publish soon.
[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2016
When I read the blurb of the book, I knew that this book has something different in it. The story of the book would be something different.It is rightly said,”Never judge a book by its cover the book by its cover.”The book was good but could have been more better. The prologue of the book was nice. I literally laughed a lot when Aakash shooted second time in the prologue session. I could visualise same thing in front of me. The book basically starts with journey of three boys, Aakash, Jai and Vivek. Where Vivek believed in God and worship him everyday early morning, the other two were lazy ones. The second one Jai was working in a company where he had to do much work. The third Aakash was son of IPS officer but he left his home after graduation. The stroy moves forward to Jai meeting Sneha and Aakash meeting Mr. Sanjay. Aakash surely had a great business plan but investment was a big issue. Vivek divorce with his wife Aarti had disturbed him a lot. Last but not the least they started with their venture with idea of Jai. There were few lines which made me laugh a lot. I loved one of the chapters’ title,” Hum Saare Bekkar, Karne Chale Vyapaar.” I even loved this line,” You grew up in Bharat but are now living in India. ” Now when the trio were all set to launch their [...]. They got their first client as Ramakant Trivedi. Sneha and Jai meetings were the part I loved a lot. The trio shooted many videos and uploaded on their website. Neha story brought tears to my eyes but then there was a twist in the story. Her story resulted into their closure of business landing them to jail. The trio meets a man Sattu who make them confess that they are Confused Bastards. Overall, the book was quite interesting. I could not stop myself from reading it in one go. The author surely has skills of how to balance the whole story in a go. “Confused Bastards” is one of those books which one can read more than once and even then they will enjoy it equally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 November 2016
Confused Bastards by Manav Vigg is youth centric novel with new generation thought process. Manav Vigg has sorted the confused minds of three friends Akash, Jai and Vivek.

Cover- The cover of the book is confusing and we can notice some lines in multicolour and that signify something which we can track once we read the chapter.

Title- The title of the book is apt as the whole story revolves around it. Confused Bastards is a tricky title that says a lot in just two words.

Blurb- What happens when three entrepreneurs initiate a start-up which shocks the nation?

Aakash,Jai and Vivek are mostly usual in their ways,except for some.Struggling qith their own inner conflicts as well as tje cruel world outside, they decide to show the world their true potential. To make it big. But how?

They become the voice of the nation by starting up an online platform where people can upload unbashed, unapologetic videos, venting out their angst against people, politics,bosses,lovers, taboos, or just anything. Even the founders themselves.

The platform spreads like wild fire. But when has fire doused without burning a few! Confused Bastards is not just witty, gritty, fast-paced journey of three friends, it's also an intolerant story for a tolerant country!

Review- There comes a time in one's life when he wants to do something but ends up doing nothing or doing something remarkable. So, Confused Bastards is about three friends who want to do something so they come up with a startup which is the strongest point in this book. It adds a new wave in the youth centric generation. This book teach us that everything comes for a price. If we gain something, it is the result of tremendous struggle, suffering and many more. The plot is gripping and one can read the book in one go. The characters are pretty impressive. All help alot in the plot construction. The style is simple, lucid and pithy. The story is in third person narrative followed by amazing descriptions.THis book is a guideline or rather say, motivation for people who want to start something new. The wittiness, bromance adds flavour to the book. The novel is neither fast, nor slow.The only drawback of the book is the font size which is too small and it really effects one's eyesight. But that doesn't hamper the quality of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2017
A rare light hearted and yet a little deep book on life and entrepreneurship that i have read in these times.
To the author:
Thank God you are not one of those current age Indian authors who write about life , sex and God as if they are merely platonic things. Thank God you have dug a little deeper in life to make a story like that. And thank God for bringing paradoxical topics like Business, Sex, Alcohol and Detachment in a congenial way, even without mentioning the latter. Good going. Keep it up. I wish to see more elaborate works of your in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2017
A fresh read. This book is one of those books which one would read to have a thinking spree after it. The title is catchy and actually attracts a reader.
Start-ups are the trend now. And when three friends come together to work, it is a story to share. The Author expressed the youth in such a way, that makes you think. A very practical book. Things dont always work out and that is what happened with Aakash, Jai and Vivek.
What I loved about this book and also found it unique, that the twist were not only unexpected but also very real. It is a rare quality these days in a novel to enhance both but this book nailed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
An interesting and necessary read for every person who has at one point or other felt like a confused bastard.
Book Cover: That is what intrigued me about this book in the first place. It is simple, yet appealing to the eyes. That human brain design reminds me of the sketches from It's Kind of a Funny Story Brain Maps! Shows all the thoughts and idea we have.
Characters: Our three main confused Bastards (protagonists) are Aakash, Jai and Vivek. Although their nature is so different from each other, one thing links them all. They are all conflicted and best of friends. That shows in the way they talk to each other and know each other inside out.
Plot and Theme: It was brilliant. With the current entrepreneurial wave, this book describes the strength it takes to take that plunge, and how struggling it can be. I liked how we get the side-stories of personal lives of characters and it is not all about ihafa. (Nice name though) *silent laughter

Overall:
The writing style is so natural and you can easily tell that this book is for the youth. The same old drinking, cursing, partying, worrying about careers and girls. This book was written cleverly. A focused aim with a whole lot of entertainment. I'm so impressed by the creativity. The Mahabharta Club, ihafa, this was a fast-paced enjoyable book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2017
When I first started reading the book, I got confused what it is about, and how the hell Confused Bastards is the name. But in the last quarter of the book it got clear. So don't get angry with the title. Confused Bastards is a story of three friends / roommates who gets fed up with corporate sector and Globalization. I am pretty much sure this would relate to all those people who have a 9 to 5 job and have to overtime many a times, whether he/she is in IT sector or financial department.
In the first and second quarter of the book, there was a feeling inside me telling me "Am I reading TVF Pitchers in written?" but soon in the second half the author made it clear that no you aren't reading the script of TVF Pitchers. The author would have known this.
It took me a lot of time to read this book as I was not much into this category.
Manav Vigg have positively described entrepreneurship he answered three major questions about it.
1. How it develops inside a person?
2. How a person turns into a GOOD entrepreneur.
3. How can all your work go into vain.

The author also teaches some important lessons of life. About how to find yourself. And inside every person there is a confused bastard, hiding, crawling inside us. And how to accept that you are a confused bastard. Manav Vigg also tries to tell the voice of the youth, about how they tries to make a change in this vast society of ours. All the three major characters were my favorite and not to forget Sattu too.
I would recommend all of you to give it a try to motivate yourself, if you are failing in your life.

Overall Rating: 3.5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Firstly after reading "Confused bastards" in one stretch I was like wow,this book was truly incredible.After a long getting to read something this thrilling..The plot of the story is very simple,strong and a huge message to give us. The story of Akash,jai,Vivek ,the youth,the strong willed and other half of all the youths.It revolves around the incidents when they wanna prove that they are something in life.Life has always been a roller coaster and making It brings life into us. .Trust me on this and mark my words your gonna love every page you flip of this book.go ahead and enjoy the thrilling journey with akash,vivek nd jai
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
Author Manav Vigg, perfectly captures the personality of today's youth which has been riding the entrepreneurial wave in this country for quiet a few years now. The 3 primary characters, Akash, Jai, Vivek are extremely relatable and the events that unfold in their story are believable and are very common in our country. I am not going to dwell into the plot at all as i think reviews should not spoil the story and just give an honest opinion on whether the story works or not. In this case it absolutely works. The plot is exactly like a pizza, its a very simple recipe but the quality of the base & the perfect blend of its ingredients(sauce, spices, cheese) is what makes or breaks the recipe. Similarly,in Confused Bastards, the base is simple but on top of that, the 3 characters and their different personalities when blended together make the perfect topping. The narrative is full of wits and some very emotional moments as well. The story is like a case study for present and future entrepreneurs, just having a great idea is not enough, you need to have a broader perspective and vision while executing it. Even though the start felt a little slow but overall I really liked it. I would recommend everyone to give it a shot and you might be pleasantly surprised to see how simplicity works brilliantly, both in terms of the story and the writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse