auto-hp family womens-fashion

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
43
4.3 out of 5 stars
Skyfire
Format: Paperback|Change


on 3 June 2017
A disappointment. This is perhaps the author's low point, and I am optimistic that the next book will be better.

It was very apparent who the villain was, and the book became predictable. It seems to me that localised weather phenomena has been stretched beyond the breaking point. I didn't find the instances of LAW in the book credible. Machines may alter weather locally, but I would think that for Pralaya to happen, you will need huge amounts of moisture coming from nowhere.

I honestly believe that the author is capable of much better writing than what this book suggests. I wish him the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2017
Great and captivating book. Sell more like this. Love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Brilliant work. Amazing to see such writing based on the Indian sub continent. Looking forward to the next one Aroon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
Worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
This was 3rd book I read of Raman Gripping plot but climax was disappointing. His first novel was the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2017
In Skyfire Meenakshi, Syed Ali and Chandrasekar take on a journey to follow up with seemingly unrelated events. On one hand, we have freak weather conditions; From acid rain to fiery hot winds to random lightning flashes that causes skin burns and diseases. On the other hand, we have random children going missing from the slums, yet nobody seems to care much. Growing from The Shadow Throne, Meenakshi, Chandrasekar and Syed Ali take on an adventure like never before. They are up against a power that almost seems like is omnipresent. Can they take on or have they chewed off more than they bargained for?

The author’s take on the characters is interesting. This is the second time I am reading about them (I think I missed one book in the series) and I find them growing within the boundaries of the plot. The author gives us just enough information to be able to connect with the characters and hold back just enough to make us curious enough to pick up book after book. There’s enough drama in the protagonists’ lives to give them the credibility of being real. His treatment of the plot has that similarity with the character development. Just enough information is provided at the right moments to keep you hooked to the book. The author seems to have done quite a bit of research about his settings as his descriptions brought the various backdrops to life.

All these complimented with a good pace made this book quite an interesting and entertaining read. I did like The Shadow Throne better but that in no way reflects on this book as it has enough action and drama to hold its own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
Pros:
Interesting idea of weather manipulation as the new weapon of war
Characters of Hassan and Pant are shown welll

Cons:
There's no suspense- one can guess who the mastermind is within first few chapters itself

Just couldn't relate to the narrator, thejournalist. Chandra. Couldnt see why he was awarded the Magasasay, nor why two beautiful, intelligent women wanted him!

The writing is too prosy. An action thriller must have simple and taut writing to built atmosphere
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2016
In his latest thriller, Skyfire, Aroon Raman takes you on an incredible journey into the alleys and jhuggies of Delhi, in search of the overtly intelligent orphan Gopal, while simultaneously tracking and tracing military-intelligent weather anomalies that threaten to release chaos and riots across the Indian subcontinent.

The unlikely duo of Chandrasekhar—the award-winning journalist, and Meenakshi Pirzada—a history teacher turned social worker, resolve to get to the bottom of the disappearance of Gopal as well as innumerable other children from the streets and slums of Delhi. But what they stumble into is a miasma of profound fear among the poor, professional hits, orchestrated crime and a web that is slowly spinning out of control. And when their comrade, Deputy General Syed Ali Hassan is abducted under the most unlikely circumstances, they are overcome with the desperation to find their friends and ensure they get out of this alive.

But can they really succeed where India’s DIA, IB and RA&W cannot make any headway? What can possibly work in their favour? And if their moves have been tracked for so long, why hasn’t the enemy attacked them yet? How do they play into the bigger scheme of international violence, crime and environmental issues?

Aroon Raman’s extraordinary story-telling will have you hooked from the prologue to the end. Interwoven with first-hand accounts by Chandrasekar, and articles from local newspapers, Raman doesn’t cut any corners, making it a gripping, chilling read with a multi-faceted narration. This simply has to be one of the finest books I have read in recent times. If this doesn’t make you an Aroon Raman fan, I don’t know what will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
TL/DR: The first Aroon Raman book I've read. Pretty good! And I'm going to read the others.

The book started off with two very different issues - child trafficking & weather manipulation - and managed to tie them up well. A well told story in all, with none of the characters resorting to superhuman stunts - keeping the action sequences believable. The plot & story direction was quite predictable from the initial chapters, but it was still fun to read. Finished it in 2 days.

Despite the book being a part of a series involving the lead characters, the author has ensured that it's a fine standalone read on its own - which is great. Bringing in a character from the previous book (Shadow Throne), explaining who he is & not including him in the rest of the book was weird.

The occasional Hindi kept reminding me that this was a local novel. If not for some typos & incorrect phrasing, it'd have been a complete immersive experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2016
A real thriller in contemporary setting with an unexpected plot but a different plot not in any way less than a James bond or Robert Ludlum. It is racy and gripping by any international standards though Indian by names and characters, it is of world standards in story and plot. Americas and UK will definitely find it comparable with western standards in theme and picturesque presentation. One great thing is Mr Raman did't prolong the final endings unlike westerns thrillers. Its worth the money and deserves to be gifted on any occasion to any age reader. The author could have put at least ten/twenty pages more in the early pages of the book as flashback to Chandra's Yaminni affair at least for Indian reading market. But he did not get tempted to do so aiming at probably English readers. Well done Raman,It is worthy of making a movie. Looking for another thriller. All the best. DJ Babu, Mumbai
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

In The Name of God
₹ 158.00
The Curse of Mohenjodaro
₹ 229.00

Need customer service? Click here