auto-hp family

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
10
3.1 out of 5 stars
The Mine
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:₹ 177.00


on 18 August 2017
This was one of the finest works of suspense-driven horror that I have EVER read.
On one hand, it's a story of supernatural evil that gets unleashed by the unearthing of an inexplicable shrine inside a mysterious, and totally secret mine. Five experts are brought in by the authorities, to explain the "accidents" that had besieged the miners, and to assess the safety of the mine. Then, predictably, things go very very wrong.
On the other hand, this is a story of deep and disturbingly human evil. As one character after another went through his or her individual hell, befitting the evil inflicted upon others by himself, or herself, we started realising what a unique purgatory, with all possible layers, have been created by the author, for us.
Above all, the book was absolutely unputdownable.
The only reason behind me dropping one star is the mind-numbing pain & shock caused by the ending, which could have been different, easily.
Even then, Recommended, obviously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Coming after the light laugh riot that was "May I Hebb Your Attention Pliss", this book hits you first of all due to its diametrically opposite tone. There is barely a light moment in this immensely bleak novel. That clearly is by design since at several points in the book, Arnab toys around with hope and despair, offering just the slightest whiff of the former , and then proceeding to bludgeon you viciously with an overwhelming dose of the latter. There are cliches, certainly, but then its a genre by and large driven by clichees, so I do not consider that a serious impediment. Did it mess with my mind? Yes it did. Halfway through I thought this could be an excellent film, but the proceedings beyond a point are a bit too graphic and maybe better left to the imagination. All in all, I found the book gripping, and even though some points do remain unexplained, they do not take away much from the central theme of the story. Worth a read..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Its difficult to fathom the thoughts going on in author's head while writing this book..the book is cruel and heart wrenching, definitely not for faint hearted...a must read who love this Genre
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
this is the WORST book i have EVER read. total crap. waste of money! the storyline has all sorts of holes in it....there is no plot. its just simple plain awful. horrible! disgusting! total, total, total waste of money. I wish i would have read it the day i bought it. i could have returned it then and there :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2017
Disturbing book! So cruel script. I just read 100pages. Am done with it! Think before you buy this book!
Frankly speaking want to throw it right now for the cruelty.
May be that will interest other readers.
Not my type!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
What happens when the evil lurking within men is brought out for the world to see? Is the Devil just a façade created to cover the will of God? Is it universally true that the greatest evil lies deep inside?

Arnab Ray describes the terrifying experiences of a group of miners who are employed at an ancient site of worship. They starts experiencing nightmares when darkness falls, and during the day, the carvings on the underground dome drive them insane, albeit slowly. An investigation is launched with a group of experts when things get out of hand, and what they discover next sets the tone for a spine chilling journey, one that they need to get out of - alive.

The book starts sluggishly, taking its time to build the drama. Progressively,you are introduced to the various characters and their intentions — scheming scientists who will stop at nothing to attain their vaulting ambition, a female archaeologist with an insatiable hunger for sex, a clinical psychologist who gives false testimony against an actor to avenge the rape she had been subjected to, children molested by sexual perverts, an elderly doctor indulging in sado-masochism, an innocent-looking schizophrenic waiting patiently for his gory pound of flesh and more.

Philosophical at places, the book shakes you a little with the insights. A diligent mix of Science and Karma, the suspense and the thrill in the book will give you goose bumps with every new page. Ray follows the classic three-act structure to produce a solid narrative though peppered with famous Bollywood and pop culture references. At times you have to disbelieve some of the intentions and reactions in certain scenes as they don't fit in the bigger scheme of things, but since the narrative is kept at such tight leash, you are willing to forgive such minor flaws.

I am going with 4/5 for Arnab Ray's 'The Mine'. Horror in Indian fiction is a rare species, this book may have just started the trend in this genre. It is taut, exciting, eerie and there are flashes of brilliance. As the indication goes by, the sequel : The Mine - Resurrection is on its way. It will be an interesting follow-up.

Read more reviews at http://loveisalwaysnew.blogspot.in/
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
OK I have to be honest...this is the only one I've read.

Would rate this somewhere between 3 and 4 stars but since I'm just happy someone got published writing Horror in Indian English fiction, I'll round it off to 4 :)

But that would be shortchanging this book. It's been a while since I read this so I'll keep this brief... the ending is strong and the rest of it is pretty readable. Of course horror isn't everyone's cup of tea so you shouldn't even open this book if that's the case.

But if you're an Indian horror fan, then this book is a must-read. Can't wait for Arnab to get back to horror.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
The Mine is a decent attempt at a thriller by Arnab. Its is written in a simple an lucid manner.
Though the ending is quite chilling and sinister, yet it doesn't make up for a lot of threads left lose in the story.

It seems as though Arnab was too concerned about a shocking ending and has written the whole book backwards to suit the same.
Wouldn't rate higher than 2 stars.

Expected it to be better !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Creative and thrilling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
not my type
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Here Falls the Shadow
₹ 203.00

Need customer service? Click here