auto-hp family

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
47
3.4 out of 5 stars


on 3 November 2017
People like teesta setalvad few and far between
Story of great courage with the entire governmental machinery against her
A must read
Admire those who support her
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Teesta has revealed her source of guts for the first time. she is relentless foot soldier of the constitution. Teesta Setelvad work tells how system becomes a demon to combact the peace of the society
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I have followed the trajectory of communal riots in India since the demolition of the Babri Masjid in December 1992. It establishes an indisputable fact- the state's silence, as in the case of the Masjid demolition and the riots in Mumbai, or the state's complicity, as in the case of the post Godhra riots in Gujarat in the period February-May 2002.A deep seated prejudice against the Muslim minorities and a desire not to offend the "sensibilities" of the majority community is what leads to these kind of state reactions. I am very happy to note that Teesta has relentlessly pursued the cases related to the state-sponsored violence in Gujarat and is able to claim some successes in her fight against the fundamentalists who today rule the country. She deserves the support of all right thinking individuals who believe in the Indian Constitution and the values enshrined in it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Teesta has had it tough because she chose truth and justice against fraudulence and blatant injustice. This book tells the tale of her struggles against very powerful persons including the Prime Minister. It inspires, it reveals the rot withing the political system, and it horrifies.

The drawback is that it seems to have been written in a hurry. With some editing it would have been a fabulous document about the Gujarat riots of 2002.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
I have just started reading the book 'foot soldier of the constitution'. The opening is authentic, sincere and absorbing.
Of course it is going with my expectation of the author whom I had heard a few decades ago in Pune.
The narrative being true makes a disturbing reading for India to survive as a great democracy !
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Real secular in terms with Indian constitution not like bjp rss
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
The story of how this nation's garment has so many blood stains told without embellishments and dramatization. We read history to understand the mistakes of our past so that we may not repeat them. This book documents a history still in the making.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A true foot soldier of Constitution Indeed..a woman of courage tells us with honesty what it takes to fight for the Constitution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Brilliantly documented, the book highlights the author's relentless struggle for justice and courage undeterred by persecution by the state. .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Whatever your political inclinations are and whatever you feel about either camps, you must read this book. Some facts can't be ignored no matter what mouth they come from
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse