auto-hp family



on 5 October 2017
A dialectic narrative indeed, about the status quo in this country, I urge the author to continue his work educating the middle class Indians about how things in this country truly work, I earnestly request the author for publishing the local language versions of this book so that it is intelligible to a wider reader base
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
A salute to the bravery of the writer. Just started reading it. It is tragic the way all the governments , across the party lines, have not worked honestly for the welfare of the common citizen. A bit pessimistic but all thinking citizens aught to read it to get a little idea of the harsh truth of our democracy during last seventy years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
This is a book that must be read with an open mind. The author's ideology differs greatly from mine. Yet I find, this book to be something that must be read to get an opinion about the politics in this nation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
A very honest and objective reporting and analysis of the way the this mammoth democracy works, or doesn't. Brings out the open secret nexus between the politicians, businessmen and babus of the nation. It gives you enough to get mad and leaves you with a hunger to start digging for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
This is almost similar to some more books on the subject of black money and corruption in India. The narrative runs super fast on many of the recent scandals. Now doubt that recalling all the past scandals refreshes fading memories and emboldens the right minded persons to react many times in unseeing ways. The reading is easy and very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
We know corruption is rampant in India, but the author provides details on a scale I haven't seen elsewhere. The book is also well-written and I found it interesting and horrifying in equal measure. Kudos to Josy Joseph for this awesome work of journalism.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2017
Very superficial...just a pastiche of well known insinuations without any proof...great pity, the author could have really gone into the subject, but instead has given us "fluff" without any proof. A great opportunity lost to do service to a good subject. Khushroo Rustumji
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
excellent book by a journalist who work in the field amongst people. In todays world of visual media activism, such books from real journalists like josy are gems to be on your shelves
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Really want to know about the people who are eating the country's money out and how that money hungry mechanism is... This is the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
A must read book if you want to know about the dark side of Indian democracy.
Besides the book cover is quite good. ;)
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse