auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
144
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Quest of the Sparrows
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:₹ 70.00


on 19 April 2017
“The quest of the sparrows”, a spiritual novel by IIT & IIM alumnus Kartik Sharma and Ravi Nirmal Sharma, is a religious and spiritual fiction which enlightens our minds. The story explores the higher meaning of life through an entertaining path breaking story of ‘Partibhan’, a guru who begins his journey with several ups and down. A young guru, who sets out 600 km journey on foot without money or belongings along with his disciples. It is simple tale but it is very effective. This book is capable to lifting someone up. A must read for all those feeling burnt out and wondering about their lives.

you can buy this outstanding book with the help of this link

http://www.amazon.in/Quest-Sparrows-Kartik-Sharma/dp/8129118653/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492590119&sr=8-1&keywords=the+quest+of+the+sparrow

I also would like to thank amazon India to deliver it before delivery time. thanks a billion for good service
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
The Quest of the Sparrows has an interesting premise which instantly strikes a chord with the reader. The protagonist crushed under the work pressure and whose marital life is on a toss may appear a reflection of many of us. We then encounter the fundamental question, what is life all about? This leads to a spiritual odyssey. The protagonist Nikhil starts a soul searching journey. When he visits the ashram, he realises that the swami is dead and now he is succeeded by a strapping youth Partibhan. Nikhil has his own reservations about the new Master. Yet he becomes a part of the group lead by Partibhan, which undertakes journey to Ganpatipule on foot. They do not carry a single penny with them and live on alms. In return they agree to do some chores for their benefactor. On this journey they meet people with different temperaments. They touch each other lives and elevate to another plane. Partibhan emerges as a spiritually evolved person in this journey. But there are some who are apprehensive about Partibhan. They believe Partibhan is a charlatan. Again Partibhan has his skeletons of his past buried inside the cupboard. Is Partibhan indeed a charlatan? Are Sanjeev’s apprehensions true? To find an answer to these questions you will have to read the book the Quest of the Sparrows.

When it comes to writing the book is extremely well written. The editing is clean and the pace keeps you hooked to the story. Lines like ‘Being spiritual doesn’t mean one has to be indifferent. Sometimes, controlled anger is necessary to check injustice,’ indeed do offer a new spiritual insight.

But the novel falls off-track with Sanjeev and Partibhan’s past, and our journey to Ganpatipule is abandoned midway. I believe the novel would have been class apart if the authors had chosen to stick to the Ganpatipule foot journey alone. Not doing so makes this novel just an average read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Quest Of The Sparrows is a spiritual book told in the form of a story. The book is told through the perspectives of three people, mainly Pratibhan, a young man turned guru who takes his followers on a 600-kilometer journey on foot without money and belongings. During the journey, many leave whereas many go through a stage of self-discovery.

I liked reading about the group’s journey even though it did seem a little unrealistic. Some of the philosophies of Guru Pratibhan didn’t make sense to me while some really appealed to me. I think I would have liked them more if they were written in a simpler way.

The book focuses on various things such as helping others, gratitude, meditation, selflessness, believing in the divine and focusing less on materialistic needs. It talks about religion and other gurus and also various questions that humans beings have regarding the universe.

The writing of this book is to-the-point and fast-paced. It is a quick read and really holds your attention throughout. The cover is also eye-catching, creative and very fitting. I especially liked the color.

This book could have been easily written as a self-help book but having been written as a novel makes it more fascinating. I enjoyed the plot but I just had a hard time believing it.

I haven’t read any book like this before and I’ll say I did take something from it. I will definitely recommend it to people who are looking for spiritual/self-development books and also for an engaging and unique read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Cover- 4 Stars
Title- 4.5 Stars
Blurb- 3.5 Stars
Narration: 4 Stars
Plot- 4 Stars
Characters: 4 Stars
Writing and Presentation- 4.5 Stars
Overall Rating- 4 Stars

BLURB

A seemingly ordinary young man forced to become a guru takes a leap of faith and sets off with his followers on a taxing journey that changes their mindsets and lives forever. Inspired by the carefree life of a sparrow, reluctant guru Partibhan takes off on a 600 kilometre expedition on foot to test his theory of practical spirituality. He believes that human beings can become powerful creators, but the desire to secure the future makes them mere survivors. However, survival isn’t the only goal of life. A much bigger role, a higher calling awaits us. Will Guru Partibhan and his disciples complete the journey? Will they discover their true potential and find everlasting joy? Looks at the importance of spirituality in today's fast paced world. A must read for all those feeling burnt out and wondering about the ‘higher purpose’ of their lives. The story of a young man who finds his calling in life, written in a relatable manner.

Review

When I saw the cover, I thought this must be related to Harry Potter or some magical theme for the Novel. That there would be mysterious plot of the novel.
The three sparrows signifies the three stories of different people Nikhil, Sanjeev and Partibhan.
Nikhil is from London and his life is totally messed.
Sanjeev is basically there to spy on the Great Guru.

Partibhan, I would like to keep the details intact about this Character for the sake of the Climax.

Overall, This whole novel is based on the spiritual journey of 600 kms, the great guru covered with all his followers and teaching them the purpose of life.

The novel is written very well, keeping the essence of all the Characters, I liked the sequence of the incidents but still feel it could have been made better.

All in all, I liked the Novel and give it 4 Stars.
Looking to read more of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
The quest of sparrows.

It is a selfhelp and a story beautifully delved and penned down.

Cover - the cover reminds me of charles bukowski's poem there's a bluebird in my heart.
So does the title remind me.
The cover is simple and elegant.

Title - quest of sparrows the title will make you think of it as a journey which keeps going on.

The story is about a bunch of people who go on for a pilgrimage where they meet swami and there life changes with the journey he takes the whole group out.
The deep demons that one has kept buried deep that is put to show.
the journey demands to have nothing to carry but to make way for the living. Just as one is born and makes out for his living through seeking, helping and spreading love.
The journey is tough but is really worth the whole while.
Is the ending happy?
The story will teach you a lot though.
A lot of knowledge can be scraped from the story. The narration and language really keeps you hooked to the book throughout.
The more you say is less about the book.
Definitely recommended!
Read the book to know more.

Overall -4/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
In this modern era, everyone is working hard for materliastic joy and happiness. Very few people have time for spirituality and we hardly look for happiness within us or care for happiness of others. There are many gurues who preach spiritual knowledge to their disciples. But these spiritual knowledge has no meaning if someone doesn't apply that practically. We also hear about practical spirituality which means applying those principles in everyday life. We all search for eternal happiness but most of us fail to achieve it by following idealism, spiritualism, capitalism, materialism, socialism etc. But a sparrow which knows nothing about all these and live without the worries which accompany us. We just want to servive not explore the life or evolve in it. "The Quest of the Sparrows" by Kartik Sharma and Ravi Nirmal Sharma is a like self help book which talks about spirituality, evolution and divine. The subtitle of the book, 'Explore the joy of freedom' describes this book very well in a single line.

Kartik Sharma is an investment banker. He is an alumnus of IIT Delhi and IIM Ahmedabad. His ambition is to create change, to unlock the exceptional potential locked within each one of us and go for the next stage in evolution where it all starts making sense . And the Co author, Ravi 'Nirmal' Sharma is an Associate Creative Director with a reputed agency. He believes each one of us is born with a unique talent, which if actuated contributes to evolution.  Life has to be more than a mere journey from birth to death. Not once, but many times, people and circumstances remind us of the inner calling we ignore. Listening to these voices can enrich our life and those of others in touch with us.

Blurb - A seemingly ordinary young man forced to become a guru takes a leap of faith and sets off with his followers on a taxing journey that changes their mindsets and lives forever. Inspired by the carefree life of a sparrow, reluctant guru Partibhan takes off on a 600 kilometre expedition on foot to test his theory of practical spirituality. He believes that human beings can become powerful creators, but the desire to secure the future makes them mere survivors. However, survival isn’t the only goal of life. A much bigger role, a higher calling awaits us. Will Guru Partibhan and his disciples complete the journey? Will they discover their true potential and find everlasting joy? Looks at the importance of spirituality in today's fast paced world. A must read for all those feeling burnt out and wondering about the ‘higher purpose’ of their lives. The story of a young man who finds his calling in life, written in a relatable manner.

This book is really very helpful and while reading we can look in ourselves and learn a lot from it. It also teaches us about spirituality and divine connection in a better way. The journey of practical spirituality is very exciting and worth reading. Both the author has done a commendable job and succeeded in delivering a good message through this book. At one point, it is written, "Between birth and death we are evolving and that's the higher meaning of our lives." The three protagonists has very clearly proved this statement correct as we go through their stories. How the situation in their life bring them on the door of spirituality and how it changes their lives is very interesting to read. The simple narration makes it easy to understand everything but sometimes it bores in middle because I found it hard to relate with some points. Overall I liked reading this book.

"Age and experience aren't relevant. When the mind's eye opens, we see eternity."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
The title of the book and the cover might have deceived me... once I started reading the book, it went like something casual, a day to day fiction. In the middle, when we are on a 'quest' with the character named Partibhan, things go well and we are into something a different kind of experience that the author tells as 'practical'. The language of the novel is simple and it had to be so. Story is different but simple and the theme is unique, I admit. Reading this was a pleasure but such experiments need more delicate balance of a multi-character plot which I found was missing! The novelists need to work better with their next novel if they plan to bring out. Story might fascinate a certain sect of people... not everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
The Quest of the Sparrows, a novel by Kartik Sharma and Ravi ‘Nirmal’ Sharma, is published by Rupa Publishers. The cover looks apt with a faceless man and silhouettes of sparrows taking their flight. With such an interesting cover, I was sure it would not disappoint me. The subtitle—Explore the joy of freedom—adds to the intrigue.

Who is Nikhil, who is Sanjeev, who is Guru Partibhan, why did he become a Guru, how was the journey to spirituality helpful to them, how materialism is the root cause of 90% of our problems are some of the many reasons why you will keep turning the pages to find out what happens in The Quest of the Sparrows.

This 274-page book is a light read, especially during travel it can be a good companion. I wish the authors all the best for their future endeavours.

Read the complete review on ilagarg.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
This book binds you to the story and the ideas and language used is just perfect....
This book reflects a great example about disbelief turning into faith and the richest of person in Any corner of the world can seek enlightenment......
The books title suits best to the plot. As it truly shows that what does living carefree like sparrows really mean.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
The LazyScoop Review:

The Quest of the Sparrows is a wonderful story with beautiful message. It strikes an emotional chord with the readers. The narration is beautiful and easy to understand with good pace. Nikhil, who lives in London and is troubled with family Problems comes to India in search of Spiritual peace. Sanjeev, A detective is assigned a mission to investigate if the acclaimed Guru- Parthibhan is really a spiritual master or a fraud! The story raises many questions in the mind of the readers through the characters Nikhil and Sanjeev and rightfully answers them too through the character of Spiritual Guru Parthibhan. The main attraction of the story is the Journey of Guru Parthibhan and how it gives him as well as us readers various spiritual teachings. The book is a perfect mix of Spirituality and superb writing. I was glad to know that it was a self help book blended in a beautiful story. It had similar tone of genre as Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist. It was interesting to read how perception of Nikhil and Sanjeev towards Spirituality gradually changes. The title justifies the book, as just like a sparrow, who is free spirited, Guru Parthibhan begins his Journey of 600 KM on foot! The theme is something new to read and gives perfect insight to the readers about positivity and purpose of our existence.

The LazyScoop Verdict:

Overall, Kartik and Ravi have done a phenomenal job. The book offers a blissful reading experience and a lot to learn. The characters are interesting and plot is unique. You would feel spiritualy enlightened after reading this gem of a book.

Ratings:-

Cover: 3.5/ 5 Stars

Plot: 4/ 5 Stars

Narration: 4/ 5 Stars

Characterization: 3.5/ 5 Stars

Entertainment: 4/ 5 Stars

The LazyScoop Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Quest of the Sparrows absolutely recommended by The LazyScoop!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse