auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Private Delhi
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:₹ 228.00

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 February 2017
The authors has yet again given us a fast paced thriller and I realised that I spent a bit of my time in completing all the 112 chapters in one go. I also found it real difficult to differentiate as to which chapters were penned by Ashwin Sanghi and James Patterson.

The book is divided into 3 parts namely Killer, Deliverer and Martyr.

Santhosh Wagh is the protagonist, If you have read the first book, you would have known by now. He is employed as Head of India Operations for a detective agency called PRIVATE whose boss is Jack Morgan. Santhosh is ably assisted by Nisha Gandhe who lost her husband recently and a single mother to Maya Gandhe. The other person who assisted Santhosh is Neel Mehra who is a criminologist.

The story also has few other important characters like Sharma - Commissioner of Police, Nikhil Kumar - Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Mohan Jaswal - Chief Minister of Delhi, Ram Chopra - Lt.Governor of Delhi, Jai Thakkar - CEO of ResQ, Samir Patel - Chairman of SurgiQuip, Iqbal Ibrahim - self confessed Doctor, Ajoy Guha - Media Anchor, Dr Roy.

The story begins with a cold murder and Private has been deployed by CM to find out as to who is behind these cold blooded murders. On the other hand Lt Governor along with CoP tries to stall their progress. The focus shifts from one person to the other when one after the other starts getting murdered.

In between, you would also get to see another character Dr.O.S.Rangoon. Who is this person and what significance does he have on the story?

Both Santhosh & Nisha gets into trouble and were in the verge of getting killed. Who saved them?

You also have another character Khan who makes an appearance all of a sudden.When you were deeply engrossed in the turn of events, when the killer gets revealed, you will be surprised for sure just like it happened to me because the killer was there right in front of us throughout the story but authors has framed it so brilliantly that we ever had slightest of doubt on this person.

Who is the killer? Why were so many lives being taken away mercilessly?

Do read this novel to find out all the details. I bet it is worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2017
'Private Delhi', the latest collaborative effort between Ashwin Sanghi and Janes Patterson follows the path of their earlier joint effort 'Private India'.
Jack Morgan, the founder of the investigative agency Private persuades Santosh Wagh to rejoin his global investigation agency and set up a branch in Delhi. the first case they get here is a string of brutal murders and illegal organ harvesting. This could implicate the highest members of the government, where the Lieutenant General and Chief Minister of Delhi are not on the best of terms. The plot, set mostly in Delhi, captures the smells and sights of Delhi, the cacophony of traffic noises and juggernaut vehicles, and nearly all characters are Indian. A good entertainment read with a thrill a page, printed in large font on non reflective paper, it is a joy to read.

BUT, if I was asked how this book could have been better, I would say:
- Since this is for readers worldwide, a list of characters with brief descriptions would be welcome.
- US spellings have been used, but some sentences have British construction.
- "Remit" is used in a very British context. "Scope of work" would have been better.
- The Lieutenant General is a Sikh and wears a turban, but there is no "Singh" in his name, and his trimmed moustache is mentioned.
- I see "LCD screen", but these are now obsolete and LED screens are the default option since over 6 years worldwide.
- There are quite a few errors: The Chopra's daughter instead of The Chopras' daughter; doctor consultation instead of doctor's consultation; staunch instead of stanch; You're reaching… instead of You're overreaching…; well enough acquainted instead of quite familiar; An extremely happy Surgiquip chairman… instead of Extremely happy, the Surgiquip chairman… (because there can only be one chairman for a company); and the list continues.
- During cremation, Hindus are placed with head towards north and feet towards south; but this book mentions the opposite.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2017
James Patterson and Ashwin Sanghi team up again to dish another installment in the Private Series.

When two lascivious lovebirds, looking for a hidden patch on an abandoned garden to get into the act, accidentally fall into a basement structure, they open a hazardous Pandora’s Box. Huge barrels, lining the structure, were dissolving human remains in a nauseating solution and the count was, at first, eleven. The girl shrieks hysterically and runs down the road, drawing the attention of the neighbours and in turn, police, powerful businessmen and stuffed politicos in office. But there is one thread that connects these people and the incident: a sly, anonymous killer in balaclava, obsessed with vital organs.

Both the authors are known for spinning taut crime thrillers and this installment doesn’t disappoint much. Keeping the contemporary and pertinent theme of organ harvesting and medical tourism at centre, the story is weaved in short, succinct chapters, giving the reader the necessary kick to read this in one go. Sanghi brings a distinct flavour of Delhi, infusing his chapters with the aromas of Paranthewali Gali and Red Fort, the whispers on metro trains and trailing cars on a foggy Ring Road.

What was a little unpalatable though, was the desire to decode everything to the last bit, for the reader. Doing it in the penultimate or the final chapter is a mere must but to deploy this technique throughout the book was a little annoying, especially during the parts concerning investigation.

But the writing remains, overall, lean and insulated from complexities. A good companion for the weekend, by all means.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2018
Private Delhi.....part 2 of private Ashwin Sanghi with James Patterson

James Patterson has become synonymous with a factory of sorts producing and writing books with crime and collaborating with authors all around the world.....Best known for his Alex cross series which was very well received (though in comparison to Jef Deavers Lincoln Rhyme series this is just damp Squibb......).....the novel continues where the first left though it is a clear departure from classic Ashwin.....his earlier outing Private India was well researched and quite interesting to read....This time around though it feels like a half baked attempt at giving a thrill with an overdose of gore.... Doctors are anyways soft targets and here too they have been projected in a very poor light.....Trying to do an Aurthur Hailey with the endoscopic surgery and ending up like bhagat C!!..... The most interesting and spicy part of the story is the apt depiction of the state of Delhi!... With the cm and the Lg at loggerheads with each other!.... There's also a silent ode to a news anchor who screams and wears glasses! (Guess who!!).... Just for that you can read this one and hope that further outings may be more Ashwin and less James......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2017
i am an ashwin sanghi fan, I have read all his books. So private delhi was something i always wanted on my book shelf.
good points first :
1. Storyline is good the concept and narration is good, In private india (the prequel of private delhi) it seems more of a sanghi and less of a patterson but here it seems like both have done their part equally.
2. Langauge is very simple and easily understandable, Author didn't try being oversmart by using the unheard vintage english words ( which is one of the bes qualities of sanghi)
3. chapters are small & to the point, never felt like the story has been unnecessarily streched.
4. There are very few charecters around which the story revolve and all the characters have been given the importance and depth they deserve. In the private india there are so many characters you get confused while reading which is never the case here.

Okey now Not so good points :
1. after reading 70 ℅ of the book you get the idea of who the antagonist will be, which actually kills the excitement of reading the climax. ( Suicidal for a thriller)
2. I missed the touch of history by sanghi.

Hope this helps !!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2017
This book caught my eye at the airport a week back and I was intrigued. Because its not often that you get a murder mystery thriller written by two noted crime fiction writers : Ashwin Sanghi and James Patterson
Looking for a quick buzzing read and not having read either of the authors, I picked it up. James Patterson has co authored several books under the Private series with various authors. And written dozens of other crime fiction series. Ashwin Sanghi is famous for his Chanakya's Chant and The Krishna Key among other works of fiction. This is the first time Patterson is collaborating with an Indian writer...undoubtedly as it is based in Delhi, where Private the world's finest detective agency has opened an office with Santosh Wagh as its Head. The case involves well known politicans, doctors, hospitals and a web of illegal activities with various nefarious characters including some well known corporates.
I have to say I was disappointed as it was not as gripping a read as I expected though its fairly easy on the eyes. While the identity of the killer was a surprise, everything else felt like deja vu and at some places a bit too contrived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
It was a good book. But not at the level Ashwin has set for himself with "The Rozabal Line", "Krishna Key", "Chanakya Chant" etc. I would like to see the old Ashwin back with his signature genre, historical fiction, historical thriller, mythological fication or whatever you call. I am the first person to blindly buy his book whatever he writes. Small suggestion. This "Private" series book is like mid-cap and should be read as a crime thriller. The story doesnt linger or be with you after you are over with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2017
Having read the last book written jointly by the two authors, I had high expectations from this book. However was disappointed to see the touch of Ashwani missing from this book. His trademark of mythology and murder mystry is missing here. It's an out and out James Patterson novel. The book is fast paced but the climax is a major let down. Basic logic seems to be missing towards the end. One time read only and that too if available for renting on Kindle Unlimited
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
Nice gripping thriller. Good concept and Sanghi like is previous works used simple English( on of the best quality of Sanghi i would say) rather than using fancy ones which most of the others prefer. Nice one time read go for it

You can get to know the culprit middle way into the story itself if you are too much involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2017
With Private Delhi, Ashwin has established himself as one of the best writers of India. This partnership with James Patterson also seems to be finally working (Private India was good but not great, while Private Delhi is great). He has also become my favourite author after this latest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here