auto-hp family womens-fashion

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
17
4.0 out of 5 stars
Dangerous Games
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:₹ 213.75


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 April 2017
“Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And if you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back into you.”

----Friedrich Nietzsche

Danielle Steel, the #1 bestselling author, is back with a bang with her new political thriller, Dangerous Games that revolves around a senior journalist cum single mother who would risk her everything to feed the world with the latest and the honest scoop of the happening news but when she is assigned to keep track of the vice president's money flow and recent activities, she had no idea that she was going to stumble upon a dangerous track that would jeopardize not only the security of her life but also her daughter's life.

Synopsis:

Danielle Steel tears down the walls of power at the heart of the White House in the thrilling Dangerous Games.

Television correspondent Alix Phillips dodges bullets and breaks rules to bring the most important news to the world. With her daughter in college, and working alongside cameraman Ben Chapman, an ex-Navy Seal, Alix exhilarates in the risks and whirlwind pace of her work. But her latest assignment puts her at the center of an explosive story that will reshape many lives, including her own: investigating damning allegations involving the vice president of the United States, Tony Clark.

Alix starts with a nationally revered woman who may be the key to exposing frightening secrets. Olympia Foster is the fragile, reclusive widow of America's most admired senator, who had been destined for the presidency before an assassin's bullet felled him. Since then, Olympia has found emotional support in Clark, who once wanted her as his wife and now stands as her protector and confidant. When Alix begins to dig deeper, federal agents pick up the trail. Then the threats begin.

As the stakes rise in this dangerous game, Alix needs Ben's help as never before. Soon they realize they are grappling with an adversary far more sinister than they had imagined.

Alix Phillips, a daredevil news reporter, known mostly for her courage to cover even a daring and risky news from around the globe, alongside her ex-Navy cameraman, Ben Chapman. Together when they are assigned on a new project to unravel the scandals behind the life of the Vice President, Tony Clark, of USA. Gradually they stumble upon Clark's connections with the Afghan lobbyists and other notorious men funding the campaigns that lead them on the undiscovered track behind the assassination of the former senator of USA. Little did, Alix or Ben knew that this investigation of theirs would lead them on a groundbreaking discovery about the death of the former US senator and that it would throw them on a dangerous track where the lives of their loves ones would come under stake.

Danielle Steel, the household name in the world of crime drama and suspense, spins a gripping political thriller that will blow off the minds of its readers. This novel has got enough drama, juicy scandal and actions with random twists that make the whole reading experience as of one riding a fast roller-coaster with unpredictable tracks. Steel knows how to grasp the minds of her readers right into the heart of her very story and also how to keep them engaged all through out the story line. Even though Steel's books are an instant best seller, yet this is the first time that I managed to get my hands around a Steel novel.

The author's writing style is coherent and powerful enough to hook the readers easily into the story. Although there are not many layers to this story, yet the edgy suspense keeps the heat in check thereby making it an intriguing and exciting read for the crime fiction readers. The narrative is arresting and free flowing and which is something easy to comprehend with. The pacing is really fast as Alix and Ben journeys from one part of the world to another while on their quest.

The author has well concocted the mystery that flows deep into the depths of this story and the unraveling of that riddle is done equally tastefully and thoughtfully. The twists and turns, not many, yet they come at an unusual pace that will tense up the already anticipating mood of the story. The adrenaline rushing action scenes are excellently portrayed through this story that intensify the story line.

The characters from this story are well developed with a slightly realistic side to their authentic demeanor. The portrayal of the main character, no matter how much fictional she sounds, Alix depicts the strength of the modern day career minded and dedicated woman, whose prioritizes her profession over her personal life. her determination to get to the bottom of every story is something really enlightening to read about her. the rest of the supporting characters are kept interesting to a level and never once make the story feel dull or boring.

In a nutshell, this is an electrifying novel filled with action, mystery, murder and mayhem with a twist and lots of drama, perfect for both serious and occasional crime fiction readers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
**This book was sent to me by the lovely people at Pan Macmillan India. However this doesn’t change my opinion about the book and it is a 100% honest review**

\\my review//

When I started the book, i was rather underestimating its power to entertain me. At first i thought it would be a normal thriller but as soon as i finished the first few chapters pf the book, i could see the drama and the mystery rising.

it was a unputdownable book for me. I was shook to the core with the twists and turns. i found the book superb and interesting.

Also, I really love the female empowerment aspect shown as a sub plot. like I have read few reviews about this book and none have spoken about this underlying sub-pot which is female empowerment.

Our protagonist, Alix Philips, had to face many social rejections and her husband had died when she was young and was left with a daughter. The struggles in her life and the risky job she does make her equal to what many men can do.

POMELO_20170322215946_save

So, she was an unusual protagonist and I really loved that aspect.

the plot was quite interesting and the story took a turn after sometime and I was hooked on to this book.

\\character//

the characterisation in this book was quite clear and proper. the character ‘s background was shown which made it easier to understand their situation and to know them better. also, as the story progressed the character developed beautifully and that was so satisfying since I have read many books which i didn’t due to poor character development.

\\my final rating//

♥♥♥♥1/2
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
A sophisticated Mills & Boon. Daniel Stele's books are not as good as before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Awesome thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Book was in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
Let's take a minute to appreciate and label the beauty of the cover of the book because it is one epitome of beauty. There are a number of ways the novel pleased me and I am glad I have given it a read. A totally awesome combination of 99% thrill and 1% romance, this book is sure to quench the thirst of thriller lovers.
Dangerous games was my first, yes, I repeat it was my FIRST this miraculously talented author about whom I had often heard over coffee and breaks. What amazes me the most is how Steel manages to convey the thrilling life of a Television Reporter without being on the way side or resulting in any failure of the enormous amount of information in 300 pages.

The initial aspect of this book had me gripped in an infatuation because of the totally amazing coalesce of words and meaning around the thrilling personality of Alix Philip. And slowly as I delved into the book, my afternoon meal went unnoticed till I had finished the book because that's how much gripping I found it. Alix Philips definitely turns out as a hero because for me heroism is her captivating voice and her personality built around her by the author which is strong enough to make you hear her voice through the pages. Despite being a widow and the mother of a college girl, Faye, she doesn't contemplate before taking up a mission and is always ready to face dangers with Ben Chapman, her cameraman. She and Ben make an amazing couple as both embrace dangers together with no fear.

Ben's character is another addition to the Amazing plot since he is caring and protective of Alix since the first page and they made a beautiful connect and their way of comfort puts me at ease. I was really anticipating the couple to unite in the end. Faye, Alix's daughter plays her role as a dutiful and concerned daughter who reminds her time and again that Alix ans her Grandmother are the only one she has in life, whenever she senses any danger.
The Challenge in front of Alix is to expose the darkest secrets by investigation of allegations against Tony Clark, the Vice President of the US. But as she digs deeper she is soon to find herself in the middle of a puddle of complicated and dark secrets hidden by their adversary and he is not a man who would let it go with ease and Alix and Ben must now get ready for some Dangerous Games. Though I expected some serious plot twist in the end, I am really happy that things took the happy and more satiable turn.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
My very first Danielle Steel book and I must say that it had me hooked after I crossed some 50 odd pages. The book is very slow at first, after some 50-60 odd pages the story takes a strong grip and gets one hooked.
The story is about Alix Philips, who is a top class reporter and my boy! What a fearless character Alix is. She’s a women of steel, always ready to take challenges and fight for what’s right, even when it means that she can lose her life in the process. Alix is a single mother to a 19 year old daughter Faye, who is studying in Duke University. The main plot is about exposing the Vice President of USA, Tony Clark for his deeds and risking the nation for his own good. In the course of doing so Alix forms a close bond with Olympia Foster, who is the widow of one of USA’s senator Bill Foster, who also happens to be Tony Clark’s best friend. Olympia and Alix are poles apart from each other, but still strike a bond and there kick starts a mission to save the nation and every discovery of the progress is shocking and a an eye-opening truth of how the world has certainly changed from the times when friendship and relationships were a truly important part of one’s life and now everybody wants their own good. Tony Clark’s character is a shade of smartness combined with wickedness, he believes that if you have to achieve something you don’t have to wait for it to happen but rather mend your ways with everything it takes to achieve that one thing.
Every Assignment of Alix is written with utmost perfection that one can actually be there walking with Alix covering the story. The incidents and hot news that she covers are so much similar to what’s happening in real world. The book actually doesn’t seem like a work of fiction but rather seems like a true story.
Except for a few pages at start and some incidents in between the book is absolutely fantastic read and a wonderful contemporary fiction.
Thanks a lot to the publisher for sending me this amazing book and the views expressed above are my own and may differ from others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
Danielle Steel has been one of my favourite authors from quite a while. That homely feeling that I use to get from her plot was so engaging.

But reading this book was not the same. This did not feel like Danielle Steel. It felt as if she was trying to copy or maybe she was just writing for the sake of writing.
The harder she tried to make this plot more engaging ,the more it lost its grip.

Being an honest reader, reviewer and admirer; I have to be a bit brutal because I expect a lot more.

I gave it two stars and and not one for a reason. It was not out of sympathy but rather for the main character toughness and character card.
Things I hated about this book -
. Plot : The story structure was not engaging at all. It was as if she was writing just for the sake of finishing the script. Not impressed.
2. This is not what Danielle Steel is known for. She is known for heartwarming stories which leave an impact on you.
But this felt very commercial. - I was a fan of her writing , simplistic tale but this book disappointed me a lot.

I was saddened because I did not enjoy her book.

Grab some of her other works instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 April 2017
A girl who gets pregnant with a boy whom she barely knows, while in school, and wanting their child to be born in the wedlock, they get married and months later he dies. Rejected by the guy's family, the girl returns to her windowed mother with her infant daughter. Any reader would expect the scenario to be that of a woman who finds second love or settles for a 9 to 5 job or thriving for a living. But Danielle Steel never make her women give up on their lives. Alix Phillipe completes her studies, leaving her kids with her mother and becomes a seasoned television correspondent.

A woman who invariably puts her life in danger while reporting riots, natural disasters as well as political incontinence. Alix's life changes forever with a scoop that involves US Vice President, Tony Clark. With the help of the man behind the camera, Ben, Ailx unearths the sleaziest scandals of the history of United States. Love, loss, threat, scandals, hatred, suspense, action - the book has everything that hooks the readers.

Characterisation is the USP of the book, especially that of Olympia Foster. There is another dimension of relations portrayed beautifully. Contrary to what we see in thrillers off late, there are no squeezing in of unnecessary romantic or making out sequences. A glimpse of geo political scenario is given with subtlety.

In spite of being a wonderful book by a talented, experienced and bestselling author, some of the glitches could not be overlooked. The switch between dialogues and narration was not smooth. The suspense behind Bill Foster's murder was pretty obvious and lacked the shocking element. The climax is different from normal thrillers. It's more of an extended epilogue.

The game set by Tony Clark is quite dangerous with a varying graph.

This review is in return of a free book from the publisher
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Against All Odds
₹ 236.55
Magic
₹ 267.75
The Duchess
₹ 221.35
The Mistress
₹ 284.05
The Award
₹ 237.30

Need customer service? Click here