auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
199
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Blue Umbrella
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:₹ 42.00


on 3 March 2017
Master storyteller at his best !
A fine example of how one can weave a beautiful story over such a simple idea. Some may even label it as children's book. Do not be mistaken. It will be enjoyed by both kids and adults. Is the author pitting child's (Binya) simplicity against adult's (Ram Bharose) complexity? It is a short read but I enjoyed every page since one does not know how it is going to end.
One complaint though about kindle edition. Even in such few pages I came across at least 6 mistakes in terms of typing error. 1 star for quality of kindle edition if I could rate it. But this is something which I have been observing since I started purchasing kindle books. Kindle editions of books by Indian authors are nowhere near their western counterparts. Seriously lacking in quality and so full of typing and formatting mistakes. It just spoils the pleasure of reading. I have returned quite a few kindle books because of this quality issue.
You need to improve, Amazon. If you get us hooked onto electronic books by marketing your kindle readers then you might as well provide quality books even here in India and not only in western countries.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2017
Ordered this book considering it a low-cost item with COD pay method to avail an ongoing cashback.
After reading this book, I found it really worth price. It's a short story of a little girl named Binya. And the whole story revolves around her and her obsession with her pretty blue umbrella.... The end is really good and a little emotional as well.
A thumbs up for this book and will surely recommend to read it once.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2017
:)
I bought it for my term paper last year and fell in love,such a simple yet compelling story.
Ruskin really draws you in with his rich imagery and the simplicity of his language.
Pick it up for anyone who can read.
We all should read more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
The Blue Umbrella is a short fiction written by Ruskin Bond & published by Rupa Publications. The author’s first novel, The Room on the Roof, written when he was 17, won the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize in 1957. Since then he has written several novellas, essays, poems & children’s books. He has also written over 500 short stories & articles that have appeared in a number of magazines & anthologies. He received the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1993 for Our Trees Still Grow in Dehra, a collection of short stories & the Padma Shri in 1999.

Our protagonist of the story is Binyadevi or Binya as she is called by everyone from her village. She lives a simple life with her mother & elder brother Vijay or Bijju. One fine day she acquires a beautiful bright blue umbrella from some picnickers who came at the hills of Garhwal in exchange of her lucky leopard’s claw necklace. The story beautifully revolves around how she gets attached to the umbrella while a shopkeeper named Ram Bharosa eyed on it & plans to acquire it somehow.
Ruskin Bond is one of my favorite author of all time. His simplicity in writing the stories just sweep me away. I’m so glad I picked up this small book which refreshed my mind totally. The characters have been etched as ordinary as one can get & that’s what makes Bond’s writing mesmerizing. The language, cover & title, everything is on point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
If I have to sum this book in one word then it would be 'beautiful'. Only Ruskin Bond can pen down such a touching story in few pages.

Binya is an ordinary girl from hills who have not seen any luxury in her life. One day, she meets picnickers and saw an alluring bright blue umbrella. Her love for the umbrella was instant and after the demand of picnickers, she exchanges her lucky charm over the blue umbrella.

This blue umbrella becomes the talk of the town. Some envied her, some feel happy for her. Overall, this umbrella brings various adventure in the life of Binya.

This book has a very good ending, which I have not expected and at this point, this book becomes a mature reading.

I am really touched by this book, I am so glad that I read this book. I am still lingering with the thoughts of this book.

This book can be finished in 20 minutes so if you have read this book yet then you should definitely pick it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
Another masterpiece by Bond. The book is a little expensive and the story is shorter than I anticipated. But the plot is well framed. This book clearly explains why you should prefer Ruskin Bond over writers like Chetan Bhagat who are highly overrated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2016
This is more of a long short story. The print is so big that the number of pages has probably been doubled to what it would be in a normal small print book. Nevertheless, the big print makes it easier for children to read and it is a nice story for children, the themes specified without overt moralizing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2017
A heartwarming tale of a simple village girl and the characters revolving around her. They have their own share of flaws and through a process of self scrutinization they finally overcome it. Using his simple yet extraordinary style of narration, Ruskin Bond manages to surprise his readers at the end and the impact he leaves is beyond words.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2017
Simple,rustic and should be appealing to people of any age. can be even read out to kids as a bedtime story.Mirrors a lot about life and people in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2017
The book is by Ruskin Bond ,hear he tells the story how a poor village girl was gifted a blue umbrella and how much she fell in love with it and how she took care of it.
Very nice story, I recommand everyone to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse