auto-hp family

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Lord of the Flies: New Educational Edition
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:₹ 314.30


on 29 May 2017
Complete waste of time. Filled with useless discription of island without presenting a good story. It is better to watch 1963 movie of same name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
what should i write its a interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I went into this book quite intimidated because of the reputation that it has as a modern classic. I believe that anything that has managed to stay in print for over fifty years might have some enduring qualities about it that allows it to stay relevant through the various times. This book is a contemplation about the nature of civilizaton, lawlessness and anarchy, tribal loyalties, mob-mentality (and it's destructive powers), the intrinsic homicidal and fratricidal facets of human nature and all those questions which have plagued man since time immemorial. A group of boys (pre-pubescent and some of them very young) survive a plane crash and are stranded on an island. Sound simple enough? Well, it's not quite that simple. The book will challenge you both intellectually and ethically and will give you themes to mull over for quite some time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Had different set of expectations from the book and it turned out be different.
This book is supposed to be part of curriculum for many schools but I highly doubt many of children will understand it though! First of all the narration isn't free flowing like a novel and some of the incidents seem far fetched and unbelievable for the age group which is part of the story. Apart from those problems the book is good in other aspects. Story is good and what author tries to convey through the story reaches you once you complete the book. The book is about governance and human nature and nature to governance.The book is about group of kids stuck in an island after the crash who try to govern themselves with rules and fail miserably. The book is a good read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Boring boring. May be classics aren't for me.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Book in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
This book is one of those rare classics that a person like me, can read and understand. I’m not a fan of the genre but Lord Of The Flies stand out! I read it once when I was in school, but I never quite understood it with the clarity that I do now. This book serves as a meditation on two extreme sides of human nature, one that is controlled and civilised and the other one that is savage or animal-like.

Though the biguns in the book are no more that 11-12 year old kids, they try to stay civilised but it does not take long for the survival-driven animal-like streak to kick in. Golding has very beautifully described the steady rise of the darker side of humans and how our mind, in crises, is a dark and twisted thing.

In this book, one’s henchman behaviour is very delicately shown, how everyone wants to be on the stronger side and then how they start hunting the weaker ones. The only choice left with the smaller or the weaker group of Ralph, Piggy, Sam and Eric and a few littluns, is either to join the stronger side or die! The main protagonist, Ralph, the fair boy, who liked Jack, the antagonist, suffers just because of Jack’s greater ego. He innocently failed to understand what turned their friendship around. He tries to ask Jack but as an answer is awarded with wounds, both internal and external.

The ending couldn’t have been better. The intensity with which Ralph starts crying was so touching. He cried for everything right from the first adventure of exploring the island with Jack and Simon to the deaths of Simon and Piggy, his friendship with Jack and Roger and Bill, for being left alone, being hunted, failing to understand where things went wrong, not being bale to keep the smoke up and most of all for being away from the civilised life where the blood-thirsty hunters were choir members!

This book is worth all the praise, time and money!

I’d recommend it to anyone who reads, breaths and eats.

Read my other reviews at www.thereadingbud.com
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
It is superb modern classics reflecting modern society through child fable.It is a must read for everybody.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Received as advertised. Don't know why this novel is considered required reading. It's a below average effort by the author. Golding, who acknowledged that though this book made his fortune, and got prescribed in school syllabi, it was not his best writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Lord of the Flies
₹ 239.40

Need customer service? Click here