Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

Kindle Price:    284.38
includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Sunken: a dark steampunk fantasy (Engine Ward Book 1) by [Green, S C]
Kindle App Ad

The Sunken: a dark steampunk fantasy (Engine Ward Book 1) Kindle Edition


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Kindle Edition
   284.38

Length: 520 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to The Sunken: a dark steampunk fantasy (Engine Ward Book 1)

Learn more about purchasing Kindle eBooks

Customers can now buy over 3 million Kindle books on Amazon.in with Indian credit/debit cards, net banking and Amazon.in Gift cards. > Learn More

Product description

Product Description

“… one of the most original books I’ve ever read.” – I Heart Reading

“One of my most enjoyable reads of this year, cracking along at high speed and using intriguing ideas to create a world that’s like a cracked mirror version of our own history.” – BookieMonster


In the heart of London lies the Engine Ward, a district forged in coal and steam, where the great Engineering Sects vie for ultimate control of the country. For many, the Ward is a forbidding, desolate place, but for Nicholas Thorne, the Ward is a refuge.

Deep within the bowels of the Ward, Nicholas can finally escape his strange affliction – the thoughts of animals that crowd his head. The shadows of his past hang over him, forcing him to remain hidden alongside the Stokers – a forgotten people who toil day and night to keep the boilers of the Ward constantly firing, so that the engine of progress may continue to hum.

But rebellion is stirring within the ranks of The Stokers, led by Nicholas' childhood friend, the brilliant engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel. Forbidden to do the work that brings him his only joy, Brunel innovates in secret, his mind growing ever more twisted by the desire for knowledge.

Battles rage in the shadows of bizarre buildings at the heart of this nightmarish alternative London. As men transform into flesh-eating monsters, Nicholas and Brunel seek a way to restore peace – will London's salvation come from a mechanical army, or on the backs of prehistoric beasts?

The Sunken is the first book in the Engine Ward fantasy series by S C Green. For fans of China Mieville and Neal Stephenson who want to explore the clash of religion, technology, and bestiary in a city on the cusp of industrial revolution.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1626 KB
  • Print Length: 520 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Grymm & Epic Publishing (12 September 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00N17VVZC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,98,997 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 43 reviews
302 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsThis one blew me away!
on 26 February 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
3.0 out of 5 starsI felt the pacing was good and the plot was interesting
on 9 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat characters and story that pulls you in
on 8 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat!
on 18 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsThe Sunken
on 20 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?