auto-hp family

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
26
3.5 out of 5 stars
Selection Day
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:₹ 317.00


on 12 January 2018
Not a bad book from the legendary author of white tiger. Found it a while back during my stay in karnataka, when I was traveling across my examination centers. Bumped into a library which had this book along with other exclusive ones, didn't take much time to finish. This book is an offbeat, a certainly different approach in the field of writing as far as novels & genres are considered.
Indian youth, citizens, young minds will definitely love it as the story is set on the onset of cricket life. The struggle endured, success, taste of defeat & many other scintillating factors keeping the readers engaged, engrossed in the theme.
A definitely good read, though bit disappointed because of the high expectations of the earlier legacies of him.
Hope there would be a much better nourishing book later by the Indian prodigy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2016
The book started early well, but to be honest, ended as a disappointment. I couldn't relate to the characters beyond a point and couldn't fathom the motivation or the driving forces behind their actions. It felt to me that the book tries to be deep by means of characters that seem contrived and their actions out of place. Arvind's earlier work - especially "White tiger" and "Last man in tower" are in a different class altogether.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
Certainly not as good as his earlier books "White Tiger", "Last Man in Tower" or even "Between the Assassinations". The story simply drags. I enjoyed his other books, (Yes, even the less developed "Between the Assassinations") but this was a letdown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2018
The author has succeeded in mixing a humourous narration to an uncomfortable background of parental pressure, struggles with finances and inferiorities, homosexuality and adolescent confusions.

However, the story doesn't move the way his other novels did. The confusion in characters have somehow trickled into the storyline. The ending is unpredictable but quite sudden and lacks explication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2016
good book,enjoyed reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2018
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2016
Started predictably moves or rather meanders typical Adiga finally finishes with the reader wanting for more. So many layers interwoven
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
must read for aravind adiga fan club and for cricket loving nation...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2017
Very dark and sad story...not a great read...could have been the most boring story i have read in a long time...very depressing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Last Man In Tower
₹ 312.00

Need customer service? Click here