auto-hp mens fashion family

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
84
4.5 out of 5 stars


Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews(Format: Paperback). See all 84 reviews
on 20 September 2017
A Quest for Spring:

Kudos to Monica Mujumdar Dixit for writing such a novel with contemporary background.
- Characters are lively and start being you
- Situations are quite realistic and retain suspense
- Amolika is developed finely
- Sequences maintained nicely
- Introduction of side characters in suitable with the qualities
- Last chapters with Political/criminal background are nicely intensified, without being too elaborate
- Raehan needs a bit polishing
- Amolika’s UK stay, prior to assignment, could have been detailed to express her personality.
- Last chapters become predictable
- Being contemporary, use of technology like Mobiles/conversations, TV etc should have been more
- Avoid some repetitions when once narrates what happened in previous pages. This should be handled wisely

It’s well narrated story Mona. Congratulations and looking forward to next!!
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 24 September 2017
Just finished reading 'A Quest for Spring'. A very absorbing storyline and differently etched chatacters. The protagonist Amolika comes out a very well defined person, willing to sacrifice her own happiness for those whom she holds in high esteem.
The story is like a whiff of fresh air in today's atmosphere of distrust and fear.
For the debut novel of the author, its a commendable and wonderful effort.
Wishing Monica Mujumdar Dixit a very bright writing future.

Review by Anuradha Mujumdar
Just finished reading A Quest for Spring. It is a wonderful novel. When I read it I felt as if I was watching a movie. The scenes are graphically described. Language is classic. Each character is very well brought out. Amolika, the protagonist, emerges the strongest character. There are a number of situations depicting conflict in ideas, perceptions, situations, personalities, etc. The conflict between Amolika’s love for Raehan with social structure and her upbringing; and between herself and Vikram, are very succinctly brought out. The author has very well captured the situation, as it prevailed in the Valley at the end of the last millennium. The emotions like Amolika’s pain, her inability to sort her emotions, Raehan’s love and confusion, Vikram’s anger, have been very well sketched. The storytelling style is just superb.
The storyline is very absorbing and captivating. The narrative travels seamlessly from the meeting of Amolika and Raehan, Amolika and Vikram climaxing to Amolika getting injured while saving Raehan and the final resolution in happy ending.
The language of the author is simple, easy to understand and very effective. Once I started reading I could not keep it away and finished it. The novel is very crisp. The novel also raises tangentially certain social and political issues. It has all the elements that go in making of a good novel. Highly recommended for reading.
There are few typographical errors. But barring those, it is an extremely readable novel. It took me back to my college days. The younger generation can perhaps identify better with the story. I now look forward to her next novel.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 27 November 2017
One of the finest debut novel. A perfect manuscript for the bollywood and it could be a blockbuster. This is a fiction and is very interesting, I would say.The story is in two halves that is a flashback and present. Amolika and Raehan are two main protagonists apart from them there are a few more characters who have played a vital role in these two protagonist life. As I read and understood Amolika, an ambitious girl who lost her parents in terror attack while they were touring the Valley, and was raised by her paternal uncle, Brigadier Bhaskar Nath. Ms. Nath a free spirited soul dream to pursue journalism, but she goes to St. Paul Institute at Dharnidhar where she met Rarhan and silently fall in love with him.

Raehan is a charming boy belongs to the political family background a good guitarist, an introvert boy but get mingled with Amolika and started to like her.

Life is not that easy, Amolika is on a mission to spy on Raehan this is 1997 roll on.

2014 scenario, Amolika a jouralist who was sent to India to Cover elections And CM is Raehan.

The Story is written very neatly, plot is explained very well, it’s a love story basically that brewed during colleges, but both Amolika and Reahan get separated because of some reasons. Raehan get married to Nazzia and have Twins where as Amolika get marrieds to Vikran and was divorced and so Raehan was. I love all the characters because the story has a possitivity. Amman and Adile, best examples of children who take their parent’s separation as a positive one and help their parents. Milli a very good friend.

Title very attractive and cover with spring season picture and greenish touch and yellow flowers (yellow favorite color of Amolika) is a nice combination apt for the title. Blurb definitely gives you an urge to read the insights. Language and narration are lucid I must say after reading this book, your vocabulary will definitely get stronger. And indeed a story id very interesting, made me glued page to page.

I have just given the glimpse of the story, to know all the twists and turns, planning and plotting and finally, how the reunion of these love birds, which is very interesting. order your copy now!!!!
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
Whilst I was reading the book, I felt I read the real emotions too. The contribution of each and every character is indespensable for the twist and turns that the storyline holds, and Monica has beautifully crafted all the characters. Moreover, I felt the book is very relatable. Glad there weren’t any larger than life scenarios which would be difficult to relate. Everything is subtly done and that’s the USP about this book.

I’d like to congratulate Monica for her scintillating debut performance.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 21 November 2017
"A Quest for Spring" by Monica Mujumdar Dixit is a roller coaster ride of love, separation and reconciliation!

The plot is beautifully written which revolves around Raehan and Amolika who amidst college life find themselves drawn to each other with a bond of love. However, they drift apart only to reconcile years later!

The storyline is engrossing and gripping with emotions and feelings described vividly. The tale contains elements of thrill, suspense mystery making it difficult to put down.

Towards the end of tale, the readers feel connected and bonded to the characters, especially Amolika and the happy ending of the story simply wins readers' hearts.

The language is lucid and mellifluous with a few printing errors. The characterisation is done beautifully with relatable characters.

I found the cover quite attractive with a revealing blurb and apt title 'A Quest for Spring .'
I would like to rate it as 4.2 out of 5. Certainly recommend to all book lovers out there...
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 12 February 2018
A Quest For Spring is a perfect story written in order to complete an incomplete love story with all sorts of emotions. To begin with, the plot is interesting with a dynamic storyline. It gives us insights into different aspects of life like friendship, love, hatred, betrayal, marriage, separation, reunion, in short, it has everything. Talking about the characters, there is a handful of them. The book revolves around the major characters with each of them playing a vital role in shaping the story. I found the characterization of the protagonist Raehan the best.The language and writing style is simple and impactful which makes it easier for the readers to connect and remember for a long time. Also, the book is free from any grammatical error.

The thing which I like the most is one can read this book slowly and steadily every day. It is a thick book which gives immense satisfaction to the readers.

Also, it has a perfect cover and title which beautifully compliments the blurb.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2018
The oft quoted line -

" If winter comes, can spring be far behind?"

seems to be the driving force of Dixit's latest release : A Quest for Spring. The story centers around Raehan and Amolika who bump into each other during their college days. Needless to springs, love springs up like roses, however, it does come with its thorns. But scarcely is life easy, and we find the young lovers apart owing to their respective circumstances that force them to bid farewell to all the new emotions.

16 years fast forward and now they are in completely different situations, however, if something hasn't particularly changed it is their feelings for each other.

Characterisation

Amolika's character, no doubt, is the best etched of all. However, I would probably not be very wrong if I said that Rohan is the most interesting element of the story. While Amolika mostly leaves you bewildered at her decisions, sometimes too rushed but never wrong ; Raehan captures your heart with his sweet attitude towards his loved ones. He has attained the position of a perfect and ideal man anyone can ask for and hence he is my favourite character.

Both Raehan and Amolika have been married once before they meet again, hence their second meet needed a little bit more of detailing that brought about the changes much more clearly. That is probably one of the very few things that can be improvised upon.

Style and Vocabulary

Dixit's style is moderately descriptive, but mostly conversational which makes it a fast paced read. At almost 400 pages, and its quite large size, I do think some 50-100 pages could have been cut down without affecting the plot itself. The vocab is remarkable and brilliant, a little bit difficult for everyone to gulp down maybe because sometimes it seems more pretentious than original. Unnecessary complications of language seldom adds to the richness of a work.

But.....I am annoyed with the publisher!

They have carelessly published the manuscript without checking what was printed, pg 277 coveringit , question mark missing on page 341, and several such minor mistake which overall decrease the book's appeal.

Such minor faults, however can be overlooked if you go for the story itself and decide to grab the book.
review image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 20 May 2018
A Quest For Spring...

After all these years I came across a book that kept pulling me towards it till the time I finished reading it.
Took this book along on a cruise to Europe and the moment I started reading it, I could relate to each and every incident, character and emotion penned by the authoress.
Its amazing how she has managed to unfold the petals of this multilayered wildflower called 'love'.
And the best part is that she has done it how it actually happens, without the buttery essence.
Lucky are the ones who fall in love, and luckier are the ones who hold on to that love despite all odds in the topsy-turvy ride called life.

"le secret du bonheur en amour, ce n'est pas d'être aveugle mais de savoir fermer les yeux quand il le faut..."

This one is a must read guys!
review image
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 27 December 2017
TheLazyScoop Review:

Cover and Quality:

The cover of the book is simple yet attractive. The overall size of the book is large and slightly fat, which makes it delightful to hold in hands while reading. The font and quality of pages is top-notch.

Plot and Narration :

A Quest for Spring is a story of Amolika and Raehan who somehow end up studying in the same college, their friendship blossoms, though there are some secretive motives behind that friendship, the bond is true. But sometimes Destiny has other plans, as their world changes, one ends up being a Journalist whereas the other becomes Chief Minister. What would happen then as 16 years have passed since they last met. Will the soulmates come together?

I felt that Raehan and Amolika's chemistry is described well, you experience the innocense and perplexity of their bond. I liked how the relationship and attraction slowly builds up between Amolika and Raehan, I never felt as if the Author is trying to rush things up, which mostly happens in Romantic Novels these days. Amolika's character was strong headed. Raehan was mysterious at first but later I connected with him well as a reader.

One of the things I liked about this book is that Author doesn't let the story be monotonous at all. Though the story mainly revolves around the protagonists, the situations, Time Lapse, their changed perspectives over the years, everything constantly keeps you engaged.

Also, the initial part of the book is set up in 1997, and the attention to detail is commendable, as the Author takes you decades back to narrate this story, the references to Princess Diana's death to Srk's new movie Yes Boss, Listening to walkman, calling from Public Booth, etc all help in actually taking you back in those times.

The narration of the Author is simple and yet very engaging. Description of some scenes is beautifully done. Though few chapters in the later half felt slightly dragged. For a debut novel, the writing style is impressive.

Characterization is also great, Amolika's character feels real after few chapters. She's headstrong and emotional. Raehan is mysterious but slowly reveals different shades of his personality. There are other characters too like Millie, Vikram, etc which are written well.

The LazyScoop Verdict:

Overall, 'A Quest For Spring' is an entertaining book which takes you on a romantic, emotional and nostalgic ride. The story jumps between decades, and you feel emotionally connected to the characters. There are some books which can make great movie adaptations, I think this book is one of them.

Ratings:

Cover: 4/ 5 Stars

Plot: 4/ 5 Stars

Narration: 4/5 Stars

Characterization: 4/ 5 Stars

Entertainment: 4/ 5 Stars

The LazyScoop Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A Quest For Spring' by Monica Majumdar Dixit, absolutely recommended by TheLazyScoop!
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2018
'A Quest for Spring' by Monica Majumdar is a journey which begins with a common path, gets diverged and then finally meets its destination on the same path.

The title of the book is very optimistic and brings a positive vibe of the spring season . It goes very well with the story . Also the cover is in sync with the title . But I feel it could have been title more catchy. The blurb is also crisp and is written in an interesting way.

The plot of the story basically tells that the most common word LOVE isn't a bed of roses. Once a person is on the journey of love, the hurdles are bound to come . What matters is how we overcome all the problems to reach the final destination. The destination here was the reunion of Amolika and Raehan that is described beautifully.

The character are nicely described with every character getting sufficient space in the plot . The narration is engaging and the language is lucid . I wish the author would have done little bit more experiment with the storyline as it was just a normal read .

Rating -
Cover - 3/5
Title - 4/5
Narration - 4/5
plot - 3/5
Overall - 3/5
|0Comment|Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sunshine Town
₹ 250.00

Need customer service? Click here