Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter mobile phone number.

Digital List Price:    492.50
Kindle Price:    410.79

Save    81.71 (17%)

includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error by [Schulz, Kathryn]
Kindle App Ad

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from

Length: 420 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Learn more about purchasing Kindle eBooks

Customers can now buy over 3 million Kindle books on Amazon.in with Indian credit/debit cards, net banking and Amazon.in Gift cards. > Learn More

Product description

Review

“A mirthful and wise diagnosis of what ails us: Schulz dances us through science, psychology, and literature in a sparkling history of (and ode to) human error.” (Publishers Weekly)

“[A]n insightful and delightful discussion of the errors of our ways. . . . Schulz remains good company -- a warm, witty and welcome presence. . . . [S]he combines lucid prose with perfect comic timing. . . . Being Wrong is smart and lively.” (New York Times Book Review)

“So, please take this advice: Read BEING WRONG, because it’s the right thing to do.” (Associated Press)

“Kathryn Schulz’s brilliant, spirited, and necessary inquiry into the essential humanity of error will leave you feeling intoxicatingly wrongheaded.” (Tom Vanderbilt, bestselling author of TRAFFIC)

“[A]n unusual examination of the virtue and peril of being wrong and of all the ways we think we know things that just ain’t so.” (Boston Globe)

“Engrossing.... In the spirit of Blink and Predictably Irrational (but with a large helping of erudition)... Schulz writes with such lucidity and wit that her philosophical enquiry becomes a page-turner.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Kathryn Schulz has given us a brilliant and remarkably upbeat account of the long history of human error. If Being Wrong is this smart and illuminating, I don’t want to be right!” (Steven Johnson, bestselling author of THE GHOST MAP and EVERYTHING BAD IS GOOD FOR YOU)

“Kathryn Schultz is engaging, witty and fascinating as she uses a full arsenal of academic research, colorful stories, philosophical arguments and personal anecdotes to create a riveting account of why we, mostly, have been wrong about being wrong.” (Frans Johansson, author of THE MEDICI EFFECT)

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise...[BEING WRONG] could also be enormously useful—there are very few problems we face...that couldn’t be helpfully addressed if we we were willing to at least entertain the idea that we might not be entirely right.” (Bill McKibben, author of EAARTH: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet)

“A funny and philosophical meditation on why error is mostly a humane, courageous and extremely desirable human trait. [Schulz] flies high in the intellectual skies, leaving beautiful sunlit contrails....It’s lovely to watch this idea warm in Ms. Schulz’s hands.” (Dwight Garner, New York Times)

Product Description

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 939 KB
  • Print Length: 420 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins e-books; Reprint edition (25 May 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003JBHW08
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #41,931 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

8 February 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 231 reviews
Biz Book Reader
5.0 out of 5 starsRight on Target
8 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsGives a New Perspective
24 February 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful.
Usman A. Ghani
5.0 out of 5 starsAn excellent treatise on human fallibility.
1 May 2011 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful.
Derek T. Jones
5.0 out of 5 starsFresh, thorough examination of error
12 March 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful.
Scott Trahan
5.0 out of 5 starsAwesome read!
18 April 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?