Buying Options

Digital List Price:    640.45
Kindle Price:    518.09

Save    1,880.91 (78%)

inclusive of all taxes

includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error by [Schulz, Kathryn]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from
Kindle Edition, 8 Jun 2010
   518.09
Paperback
   805.00

Length: 420 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Product description

Review

"Intellectualism made fun! . . . Schulz's call to embrace flaws and errors as potentially beneficial will surely draw legions of follwers."--Newsweek "An amazing book. . . . I don't know when I last read a book as stimulating, as thoughtful, and as much fun to read."--Harold S. Kushner, author of "When Bad Things Happen to Good People" "Schulz draws on philosophers, neuroscientists, psychoanalysts and bit of common sense in an erudite, playful rumination on error."--Washington Post "A mirthful and wise diagnosis of what ails us: Schulz dances us through science, psychology, and literature in a sparkling history of (and ode to) human error."--Publishers Weekly "So, please take this advice: Read BEING WRONG, because it's the right thing to do."--Associated Press "[A]n unusual examination of the virtue and peril of being wrong and of all the ways we think we know things that just ain't so."--Boston Globe "[A]n insightful and delightful discussion of the errors of our ways. . . . Schulz remains good company -- a warm, witty and welcome presence. . . . [S]he combines lucid prose with perfect comic timing. . . . "Being Wrong" is smart and lively."--New York Times Book Review "Kathryn Schulz's brilliant, spirited, and necessary inquiry into the essential humanity of error will leave you feeling intoxicatingly wrongheaded."--Tom Vanderbilt, bestselling author of TRAFFIC "Engrossing.... In the spirit of Blink and Predictably Irrational (but with a large helping of erudition)... Schulz writes with such lucidity and wit that her philosophical enquiry becomes a page-turner."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Kathryn Schulz has given us a brilliant and remarkably upbeat account of the long history of human error. If Being Wrong is this smart and illuminating, I don't want to be right!"--Steven Johnson, bestselling author of THE GHOST MAP and EVERYTHING BAD IS GOOD FOR YOU "Kathryn Schultz is engaging, witty and fascinating as she uses a full arsenal of academic research, colorful stories, philosophical arguments and personal anecdotes to create a riveting account of why we, mostly, have been wrong about being wrong."--Frans Johansson, author of THE MEDICI EFFECT "Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise...[BEING WRONG] could also be enormously useful--there are very few problems we face...that couldn't be helpfully addressed if we we were willing to at least entertain the idea that we might not be entirely right."--Bill McKibben, author of EAARTH: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet "A funny and philosophical meditation on why error is mostly a humane, courageous and extremely desirable human trait. [Schulz] flies high in the intellectual skies, leaving beautiful sunlit contrails....It's lovely to watch this idea warm in Ms. Schulz's hands."--Dwight Garner, New York Times "Schulz possesses playfulness even as she brings the reader to tears... "Being Wrong" has a heartbeat."--Huffington Post

Product Description

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 988 KB
  • Print Length: 420 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins e-books; Reprint edition (25 May 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003JBHW08
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,575 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


3 customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

17 July 2018
Verified Purchase
1 June 2018
Verified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 250 reviews
W. Brian Dill
5.0 out of 5 starsWhy it's both good and bad to be wrong
6 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful.
Biz Book Reader
5.0 out of 5 starsRight on Target
8 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsGives a New Perspective
24 February 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful.
Clay Garner
5.0 out of 5 stars‘Error is less an intellectual problem than an existential one— a crisis in who we are’
17 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
click to open popover