Kindle Price:    1,212.52
inclusive of all taxes
View eBooks cart Available in eBooks cart

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send Kindle eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the India. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Antiman: A Hybrid Memoir by [Rajiv Mohabir]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Antiman: A Hybrid Memoir Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

Price
New from
Kindle Edition
₹1,212.52

Product description

Review

Praise for Antiman:


"The stakes of Indo-Guyanese poet Rajiv Mohabir's passionate memoir Antiman are high from the start.... While the memoir richly explores an awakening to anti-colonial politics and a queer coming-of-age, its emotional core is the anguish of repeatedly being made to stand apart.... The memoir refuses genre. Instead, it invents its own radical, striking, fragmented form, which reflects Mohabir's efforts to mend himself.... His stunning original poetry flies abreast of translated Bhojpuri songs. Anti-colonial polemic enlivens prose about his quest for a place his fluid self might move within rigid lines of identity. Antiman makes its own way in American letters. Transfused with what Mohabir calls in his author's note, "the queerest magic" of his Aji's songs, it's an incomparable, hybrid account of self and family that defies expectations. Singular, fierce: That's the gorgeous sound of a bird taking flight."

--Anita Felicelli, The Washington Post


"Antiman ... moves across countries--India, Guyana, Canada, the U.S.--and genres-- poetry, prose, myth, and family history--to tell the story of his experience growing up across cultures and wanting to learn more about the Hindu history his family, living as Guyanese Indian immigrants in Florida, left behind. He reckons with racism, with homophobia (the title is a Caribbean slur for a man who loves men), and with a pervasive feeling of being an outsider. With tenacity and exuberance, and dancing between a number of languages and dialects, Mohabir comes to claim his own identity, finding firmer footing in the world."

--Nina MacLaughlin, The Boston Globe


"Mohabir carves a vessel to contain his multitudes using the instruments of prose, song, poetry, "In this searing, unflinching investigation of diaspora, heritage, and personal evolution, Rajiv Mohabir has fashioned a blues that blurs the boundaries of genre, a book-song that haunts and resonates. Antiman is a potent, lyrical fusion of harmony, dissonance, and recognizance. Music lives on every page."

--Jabari Asim, author of Yonder and We Can't Breathe


"Mohabir, here, carves a vessel to contain his multitudes using the instruments of prose, song, poetry, and prayer. Authentic and defiant, this memoir responds to erasure with assertion, to derogation with reclamation, and to fragmentation with relation. Fans of Ocean Vuong, Alexander Chee, and Saeed Jones will adore this book!"

--Serena Morales, Books Are Magic (Brooklyn, NY)


"In his gorgeous and experimental memoir, Antiman, Indo-Caribbean poet Rajiv Mohabir... delves into his family's history and its tangle of stigmas to locate a powerful literary heritage and the origins of his own artistic life.... Interspersing experiments in multilingual poetry among sections of conventional memoir, Antiman serves as both a touching account of the author's life and a bold statement of his poetics."

--Theo Henderson, Shelf Awareness, Starred Review


"Rajiv Mohabir's Antiman is a powerful portrait of the artist as a young, brown, immigrant, queer man and is my favorite kind of book, prose written by a poet.... This book stops time to celebrate voices worth remembering."

--Grace Talusan, author of The Body Papers


"Antiman won this year's Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing.... The book explores his family's legacy of displacement and also his own queerness. It's a mix of prose, poetry, songs, myths, and more. Antiman is as multi-faceted and multi-layered as its author."

--Rebecca Hussey, BookRiot Best Genre-Bending Nonfiction of 2021


"Antiman overflows with languages--English, Bhojpuri, and Creole--and with various forms of storytelling, including prose and poetry, journal entries, 'fauxtales, ' transcriptions of recordings of his grandmother, definitions, and 'misreadings.' This multiplicity of genres enriches the book and allows the reader to experience the various worlds Mohabir inhabits.... Not quite a coming out story, Antiman is an illuminating 'hybrid memoir, ' a record of Mohabir's coming to terms with himself, discovering who he is, and his embrace of multiple communities and cultures."

--Reginald Harris, The Gay and Lesbian Review


"Told in sentences charged with beauty and rage, we get an unapologetic account of a life that thrums in our veins, building to a drumbeat that starts in the Caribbean and explodes into the world."

--Krystal A. Sital, PEN award finalist author of Secrets We Kept: Three Women of Trinidad


"Rajiv Mohabir achieves a gorgeous, passionately lyrical 'hybrid' of a memoir-mosaic, sojourning through straightforward narrative, multifold geographies and legacies, and evocative (and provocative) vulnerable reflections, all infused with a deeply yearning poetical heartbeat. Antiman lives, breathes, and dances in unbridled joy."

--Thomas Glave, author of The Torturer's Wife


"In Antiman, Rajiv Mohabir sets forth on a journey with few parallels in the history of immigrant literature. While tracing his ancestors' peripatetic migrations from rural India to Guyana to Canada and the US, Mohabir examines both the bonds and disconnects between his American identity as a gay poet with the expectations and limitations of his diverse cultural inheritance.... More than a memoir, this brave and beautiful book is a tale of the resilience of the human heart, and of multiple family journeys across generations and four continents. With great intelligence and insight, Mohabir tackles questions of caste, ethnicity, and sexuality, spinning tales of tenderness and ignorance, of love and of longing for that mysterious place called home."

--Terry Hong, Héctor Tobar, and Ilan Stavans, from the Prize Judges' Citation

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Rajiv Mohabir is the author of The Cowherd’s Son (2017, winner of the 2015 Kundiman Prize) and The Taxidermist’s Cut (2016, winner of the Four Way Books Intro to Poetry Prize and finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry in 2017), and translator of I Even Regret Night: Holi Songs of Demerara (1916) (2019), which received a PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant Award. His essays can be found in places like Asian American Writers Workshop’s The Margins, Bamboo Ridge Journal, Moko Magazine, Cherry Tree, Kweli, and others, and he has a “Notable Essay” in Best American Essays 2018. Currently he is an Assistant Professor of poetry in the MFA program at Emerson College and the translations editor at Waxwing Journal.

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B095HWSYCG
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Restless Books (22 June 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5876 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 345 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Rajiv Mohabir is the author of The Cowherd’s Son (Tupelo Press 2017, winner of the 2015 Kundiman Prize; Eric Hoffer Honorable Mention 2018) and The Taxidermist’s Cut (Four Way Books 2016, winner of the Four Way Books Intro to Poetry Prize, Finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry in 2017), and translator of I Even Regret Night: Holi Songs of Demerara (1916) (Kaya Press 2019) (written about in Coolie Woman: The Odyssey of Indenture, by Gaiutra Bahadur)which received a PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant Award. His essays can be found in places like Asian American Writers Workshop’s The Margins, Bamboo Ridge Journal, Moko Magazine, Cherry Tree, Kweli, and others, and has been a “Notable Essay” in Best American Essays 2018. Currently he is an Assistant Professor of poetry in the MFA program at Emerson College and the translations editor at Waxwing Journal.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
23 global ratings

Top reviews from India

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from India

Top reviews from other countries

Champa
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Memoir You Must Read
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on 18 July 2021
Verified Purchase
jason miklian
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional storytelling about longing to belong
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on 2 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Gayatri Sethi, PhD
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on 27 August 2021
Verified Purchase
VH
5.0 out of 5 stars Intimate journey of an extraordinary author
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on 26 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this gorgeous, vital book
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on 9 October 2021
Verified Purchase
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?