family



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 October 2016
The plot of the book is somewhat based upon Ashwin Jamwal, a politician, honest enough to think for the well being of the people and crooked enough to overpower the dishonest ones.
Given unlimited power he had thought he earned, Ashwin rises to become the youngest Prime Minister of India. A favourite among the ladies, an icon of the youth and a man with his own ways of work, Ashwin had struggled his way onto the top, be it sacrificing his love, being entangled in conspiracies, near escape from assassination or dealing with a threat to the world, oblivious to the fact that his life was controlled by someone, someone with the hunger for power, Hades.
A story of desire for power, corruption, lies and hidden truth, Ashvamedha is the perfect diet for a still mind in a lazy afternoon.
The book unwraps the dirty side of the politics that links the high profile ministers to the local goons who do whatever necessary to stop an honest officer from doing his work.

Descriptive at its best, the book is well-written, informative, well-researched and interesting.
As the story unfolds, the reader shall deal with his/her own set of "oh", "wow" and "eeks".

Ratings- 3.5 out of 5 stars

The book might seem a little bit boring while the talk of foreign ministers on terrorism goes on, as it seems as an hindrance for the eager reader to read the climax, still its important for the execution of the plot so that relevation may not seem obvious and done to end the book.

The entire book is well written though the ending is a bit predictable for an avid reader.

Overally, the author has done a wonderful job as giving a well-written thriller is not child's play.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Ashwamedha by Aparna Sinha is a political thriller, which makes for an interesting read. The plot is multi layered and the story is fast paced. Sinha is able to grasp the reader's attention with the quick turn of events and the high voltage drama involved.
What started as a thriller on the backdrop of Indian politics quickly turned into a tale involving global security and terrorism. The author is able to keep the suspense intact till the very end. The climactic revelation will strike the readers with awe and wonder. The novel has all the elements of a good commercial potboiler. The character of Ashwin Jamwal, IM Rathi and Armugam are well sketched and appear very realistic.
I look forward to reading more stories by Aparna Sinha.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
I personally like those novels where what we keep on guessing do not happens, and the real culprit or the real thing behind all that was someone else whom we had not expected. “Asvamedha, The Game Of Power” is one such book. The blurb of the book itself arouse my interest a look and the cover of the book added cherry to the cake. The book cover very well matches with the story line and theme of the book. When one open up the book, the book begins with a poem about power. The book all over revolves around the life of Ashwin Jamwal, who has decided to change the country. He wants to do something for his country and he is all set for this. It was overall a book on politics; interesting politics I must say. Being a reader, I have a urge to guess things before hand. When things are the same way I guessed,I became happy but when the things goes completely in a different direction I am completely amazed. Aparna Sinha’s, “Ashvamedha” was one such book. I completely enjoyed reading this book where the most unexpected thing turned into the reality.
Apart from politics, there is a theme of friendship and romance too. Ashwin did not knew that more than himself, someone else was too there who wanted him to become Prime Minister and they succeed. Ashvamedha is a book on politics including corruption, manipulations,lies,double faces and internally games played. I liked the way author wrote this book. She has maintained a balance while writing. Neither did she stretched chapters long nor did she keep it short. It was overall balanced in a proper manner. Coming to the language of the book, it was an easy read. Apart from Arun,Adya there is a most important character in the book Hades. He plays a vital role in Ashwin life and some secret get disclosed at the end of the book. I would love to read Ashvamedha Book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
Ashvamedha : The Game of Power
by Aparna Sinha

"You have to dethrone a powerful man to become the most powerful. I was itching to defeat the single most powerful person, but there wasn't any. I was left with only one choice — to create one."

A novel which has so many twists and turns. It keeps you guessing from the beginning till the end as to who the real culprit is and when you get to know it, you would be stunned for sure.
The cover of the book is intriguing with bit dark colour scheme followed by the image of the horse. This gives us the glimpse of power as the major subject of this book.
This is a story of friendship, frienship between arun and ashwin, a story of love, love between Adya and ashwin and a story of dirty politics where you will experience ups and downs of politics.

The story begins with assasination of Ashok Kumar Nandi followed by murder of Sumona Thandi.

Then Ashwin comes in picture when he clears UPSC exam and became District magistrate but he was transferred from every district because of his honesty. He tries to use unfair means to do fair work but failed miserably and he resigned. Later Ashwin joins a political party and rise to the rank of President of the Party in a short term. He became the strongest PM candidate. Inder Mohan Raathi sacrifices his life by committing suicide and Ashwin becomes the PM of India.

Little does Ashwin Jamwal know that the last twenty-five years of his life have been controlled by a master manipulator, who wanted to make him the most powerful man on earth, though for a reason!
Who was that man? What was his intentions? To find out the answers to these questions you will have to read the full book.

Ashvamedha is good read for all those who loved to read suspense|thriller.

Ratings - 4.5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
I am not a fan of politics but ever since our new PM took office my perspective has changed. And I am glad it did else I would have missed on reading this book.

Written with precision and vivid details, Ashvamedha is a promising book with very good story line. From start to end I was hooked to it and really liked every aspect that was narrated.

The plots and twist are beautifully written and one can never guess who this 'Hades' is... The suspense will keep you on your toes and you wont be able to put down the book despite the late hours.

In terms of writing it is rather matured and well connected. The characters are decently described and linked. I didn't see any random characters appearing (which can be a turn off) and even if they did, they were introduced.

The dialogues at places are rather good. To quote one here:
"We know what is right or wrong. What we should do and what not. We have an angel on one shoulder and devil sitting on the other. Sadly, the devil is louder. But when we go to bed at night and all voices fade, we hear our heartbeat"

The only issue with the book is some minor grammatical/spelling mistakes which, going with the flow, seemed weird. Also there is over-use of complicated words. I am sure this could have been avoided but apart from these it is a pretty fine read.

My rating for the book is 4.5/5 and I would recommend this to everyone who likes to read drama, thrill with political background.

Other reviews at:[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 October 2016
Book Review- Ashvamedha by Aparna Sinha
Book Name- Ashvamedha: The Game of Power Author- Aparna Sinha Genre- Political Thriller  Publisher- Srishti Publications  Pages- 214 Price- ₹195
BLURB-  "You have to dethrone a powerful man to become the most powerful. I was itching to defeat the single most powerful person, but there wasn't any. I was left with only one choice — to create one."
Little does Ashwin Jamwal know that the last twenty-five years of his life have been controlled by a master manipulator, who wanted to make him the most powerful man on earth, though for a reason! Ashwin steps up to take oath as the youngest Prime Minister of India and is unknowingly thrown into a vortex of power and authority as the entire world is threatened by a faceless enemy — Hades.
The world starts to look up to Ashwin as the savior, but he was just a pawn, reared only to be sacrificed in the end. A story of greed, lies, deceptions, manipulations and corruption, Ashvamedha is a thriller revolving around the infamous game of power in a maddening bid to seek absolute control.
BOOK REVIEW-
So what does the title ASHVAMEDHA means?
The Ashvamedha is a horse sacrifice ritual followed by the Śrauta tradition of Vedic religion. It was used by ancient Indian kings to prove their imperial sovereignty: a horse accompanied by the king's warriors would be released to wander for a period of one year.
But the world looks up to the protagonist of the story, Ashwin Jamwal as the hero, the savior of the political deception which revolves around the entire plot. But he was just a pawn, reared only to be sacrificed in the end.
Starting with the cover – the cover shows a horse which symbolizes strength and majesticity. The knight in a chess game is the most unique piece as compared to others. The cover gives you a clear insight about the book- which is politics. A political thriller, to be precise with a taste of darkness, envy, lies, deceptions and corruptions.

THE STORY- it begins with a beautiful poem which says
"I have manipulated truth Veiled it, snubbed it I didn't let you see it I propagated a lie Enforced it, inducted it And you believed in it"

This gives you a brief idea of what Ashvamedha is all about. We believe in something which is a lie. In fact, we don’t realize that it’s a lie which is groomed to turn into a truth. AND WE BELIEVE IN IT.
The story is excellently crafted with twists that kept me tickling till the end about “who the main antagonist is”. Though primarily being a thriller, it also tells us a lot about the politics that goes inside. Starting from the greed-killing, power, dominancy, romance; we have a tinge of romance and friendship too.
The Style of writing is Simple, descriptive, and very real which adds a positive note to the novel.
Considering the characters’, they were simply brilliant. The friendship of Arun and Ashwin should me mentioned. Both sides of the Political leaders’ are described vividly. Cracking jokes while they are on a light mood followed by the serious expressions which they make while sitting for a conference. Once again Kudos to Ms.Sinha for the characterizations she made.
I was taken aback by the two parallel series of events which she has plotted with Ashwin and Hades. Their meeting, the conversations, their deceptions will surely leave your eyebrows to fold.
As an individual I felt that the character of Hades could be more enthralling and gripping than it is. The scene where Ashwin meets Hades could be made more thrilling.

RATINGS:-
Overall I would like to rate the book 41 on a scale of 50.
4 stars out of 5
Originality of the plot and sub plots- 9/10
Net emotions in the story- 7/10
Usage of words and phrases-8.5/10
The title, cover and the illustration-8.5/10
The net impact on the readers- 8/10

Overall the plot is like a film where every page moves like a slide, in front our eyes. Every page will make you to read the next.
KUDOS TO APARNA SHARMA(

Reviewed by-
Sayan Basak
Kolkata
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Ashvamedha: The Game of Power by Aparna Sinha, an wonderful work of fiction blended with politics, romance, friendship. Its so realistic that is what this novel's success.

A 214 Pages of strong story says about a split personality person one side he is an strong PM of India and on other side he is an international criminal, from the child labour pains to scams, corrupt of politics.

The connectivity behind the Title, Cover and plot is awesome which portraits the pawn in chess which just sacrifices in end.

Characterization and narration from the start to end is same its easy way of language connection.

My rating 4.5 / 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2016
The book was a great attempt by Aparna Sinha. With a great storyline and crisp plot the book has set a benchmark. I really liked the planning and plotting, the dark and mysterious characters and the movement of the story. I didn’t find any problems in connecting with the book at any point of time. Only if the author could deliver equal amounts of chills till the end, the book could have been a great read for me. But still it was a very nice book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
Starting with the cover, it's completely significant with the chessmen as it is a political thriller and 'You have to dethrone a powerful man to become the most powerful,' just like the game of chess. The book really made me put my phone down and turn the pages as fast as possible till the end. With all twists & turns intertwined by the author and being written in a simple and very easily apprehensible language, this book is a great read. Though I was bit disappointed with the ending but taking the note that it is fiction the ending is acceptable. The way she pointed out the issue like corruption is worth a praise.

Taking in note all the characters, twists & turns, narration and the language of this book, the hard work of the author is clearly be seen. A very good luck to Aparna Sinha for her debut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Ashvamedha: The Game of Power by Aparna Sinha. I read my first political thriller genre. it's not like a debutant author work. every character and scenes like a realistic one. we can see many things in the novel which happened and happening in our real life. The characterizations are quite good. The plot speaks of Ashwin Jamwal and the journey in the land where everyone after one thing - "POWER". The central theme feasts upon the drive for power and a puzzle of dirty politics. The narration is fast paced and the story is weaved perfectly. I loved the ending. There is an element of surprise till the last paragraph! It keeps you guessing from the beginning until the end as to who the real culprit is and when you get to know it, you would be stunned for sure. I can guarantee you will not be bored! Once you have picked the book you will finish it.

Ashvamedha is a good read for all those who loved to read suspense political thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse